Strangers with Candy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Strangers with Candy Reviews

Page 1 of 5
August 30, 2009
Jerri may be a freshman here, but Sedaris, grotesque and fearless, is already lowbrow homecoming queen
August 7, 2008
A bizarre mixture of streetwise raunch and starry-eyed ingenuousness.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 10, 2007
What separates Strangers with Candy from other high school comedies, or from most mainstream comedies in general, is the cast's total dedication to their parts.
March 9, 2007
There's nothing sweet about this very strange character, Jerri, but you still can't wait to see what outrageous thing she'll do next.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 5, 2007
[R]eplicate[s] in a raunchy cartoon how the chaos of our experience correlates more than we may care to admit to the chaos of our personalities.
October 4, 2006
It roars along with reckless abandon, skewering everything in its path.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 31, 2006
Amy Sedaris suits up as everyone's favorite former-prostitute/drug addict-turned-high school student in the long-awaited--and quite funny--big-screen version of the cult TV series.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 7, 2006
A raunchy, subversive little satire about unlikely redemption.
August 7, 2006
Walks a fine line of comedic self-awareness, and only on occasion loses us in a haze of condescending wit.
| Original Score: 3/4
August 6, 2006
Colbert steals scenes as Chuck Noblet . . . The cracked, sordid style of Strangers with Candy half-bewilders and half-appalls you into laughing.
August 3, 2006
Like the classic comedies of Chaplin, Hawks and Woody Allen, Strangers With Candy is more than just a good subjective comedy -- it's a great objective film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 2, 2006
[T]here's demented, and then there's the plain sick and twisted tastlessness and hilarious audacity of this afterschool special gone horribly, wonderfully wrong.
July 23, 2006
Fans of the show will rejoice and a few newbies will become converts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 21, 2006
I laughed my gluteus maximus off while watching.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 21, 2006
Audiences should find the film brilliant or repellent. At the most interesting moments, it's a bit of both.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 21, 2006
The highlight is Sedaris, unflinching as she throws herself into Jerri's clueless optimism.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 14, 2006
We get Colbert, and we get Sedaris as Jerri Blank for just a little while longer. That's enough for us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 14, 2006
Everyone but the terminally tight should find themselves laughing. And all should be awestruck by star Amy Sedaris.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 14, 2006
If Steve Martin was right, and "comedy is not pretty," then Amy Sedaris' Jerri Blank must be the funniest character on the planet.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
July 14, 2006
The school is like none you've seen on screen before. Mary Katherine Gallagher would 'love, love, LOVE!' it, as do I.
| Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 5