Rent - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rent Reviews

Page 1 of 9
May 30, 2007
Recommended, but only for shut-ins who can't make it to a local live theater production of the play.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 1, 2007
Crafted with obvious care and deep love by director Chris Columbus and his team.
January 3, 2006
Even more universally entertaining than "Chicago"....the performances are sensational..you'll be definitely humming some of its tunes in the car ride home
| Original Score: 3/5
December 23, 2005
Despite my frustration at the willful stupidity of some of the main characters, I had to just sit back and let all that beautiful singing wash over me.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 22, 2005
If you are a fan of the show, you will very likely enjoy the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 15, 2005
What we're left with, in place of directorial pizzazz, is the sheer impact of the original show.
| Original Score: 3/4
December 14, 2005
Rent features an attractive cast, sharp lyrics, bright music and a storyline that has passed muster for over 100 years
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 14, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 8, 2005
If you feed them, beware. They won't leave you alone and they won't sit in your lap and purr, either.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 6, 2005
The material is real, and Columbus goes at it head-on, moving from dialogue to song and back again without awkwardness or apology.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 6, 2005
This just might be the single most shockingly good movie I've seen all year, and with as underwhelming as much of this fall's more high profile flicks have been Rent couldn't have come at a better time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 2, 2005
"Rent" is worth saving up for.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
December 2, 2005
Columbus has made his finest, most emotionally rich film yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 1, 2005
You may not leave the theater humming a happy tune, but if you're a fan of this musical, I'm sure you'll find it a treat.
Full Review
December 1, 2005
'Rent' has so much going for it..a viable storyline, rich, likeable characters, and plenty of toe-tapping, snappy, memorable songs.
Full Review
December 1, 2005
For those who dig Larson's vision, Rent is a wild, emotional rush through the cold streets and tattered bodies and souls, with gripping music to boot.
Full Review | Original Score: 68/100
November 30, 2005
Easy to like and even easier to hum.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 30, 2005
while I can admire the film for its efforts, Rent comes across as a somewhat lackluster performance when compared to the stage version that I so dearly love.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
November 29, 2005
Rent reminds me of the first Harry Potter in many ways, in that it's directed modestly well but without any flair or personality
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 1 of 9