Vodka Lemon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vodka Lemon Reviews

Page 1 of 4
March 31, 2012
Lovely for us to see a community like the village where we lived in Azerbaijan in 1997. Awful bore for the children.
½ October 6, 2011
Cold, poverty and disappointment.
But happiness is out there for everyone, we just have to take our chances. And vodka can always help.
½ October 1, 2011
Painfully slow and hardly any dialogue, found it hard to watch.
½ October 27, 2010
I thought this movie tried to be thoughtful but instead it seemed to drag on with little interest.
½ August 21, 2010
Beautiful movie that allows space for the raw forces of human nature.
May 28, 2010
I couldn't find the root of the story but it was cute, and I loved the scenery.
½ May 24, 2010
A very subtle love story set in rural Siberia, Vodka Lemon is a bittersweet discourse on mature love!
April 8, 2010
is going to watch this movie
½ March 22, 2010
Roy Anderson möter Kosturica på nåt lustigt sätt. Lågt tempo i filmen, allt man ser hinner liksom sjunka in. Inget för Blockbuster-fantaster, snarare en finsmakar-film.
½ December 19, 2009
I've seen this film categorized under 'comedy' on a few websites and in a few stores, but personally, there wasn't anything funny about it. It was actually a rather depressing, bleak, bitter, short little film that portrayed a very rough life in post-Soviet Armenia. I found it so odd that everyone seemed to carry a chair around with them wherever they went and would, out of nowhere, sit down on it, outside, in the cold as if it were completely natural. This movie gave me frostbite just watching it! And yet everyone in it seemed to spend majority of their time outside, amidst the harsh weather, and typically even without gloves! I thought it was cute that the main character and the woman on the bus had such an interesting, quirky relationship. Singing and dancing together and rarely talking. I found it very interesting to get a glimpse of a different culture, because it certainly was different.
December 3, 2009
This is a very slow movie. It is really hard to get into it. You either can or can't. If you can't you will probably hate the film. I actually enjoyed the story and the dialog used. The cast was fun and entertaining. But like I said, the movie is slow. I believe that is why it was hard for me to give it a great rating. But the whole concept of how these people live in this little town seemed to amaze me.
½ July 31, 2009
A colorful way of telling a drab story. The imagery carried me through, just but I prefer drama that makes me think so this didn't quite strike a cord.
½ July 21, 2009
A simple plot line packed with real world about the depressing lives of a Kurd village in Armenia. The grim environment is made bearable by humor, love and of course vodka. The cinematogrphy of the desolate, yet beautiful landscape enhances the story and forces you to empathize with the characters.
½ July 10, 2009
Really I couldn't watch much of it as it kept making me fall asleep
May 6, 2009
You think life is bad - try living in a tiny village in post-Soviet Armenia! That's bad. Incredibly this film works, despite complete lack of decent dialog, plot, or action. The main jist seems to be sitting around on chairs in sub-zero temps drinking vodka (until the vodka outlet closes that is) with a random man on horseback trotting past. Weird, arty, make sense of it if you will (or indeed can)!
½ April 27, 2009
This is a very slow movie. It is really hard to get into it. You either can or can't. If you can't you will probably hate the film. I actually enjoyed the story and the dialog used. The cast was fun and entertaining. But like I said, the movie is slow. I believe that is why it was hard for me to give it a great rating. But the whole concept of how these people live in this little town seemed to amaze me.
April 23, 2009
Todo sea por ver cine Armenio, con aires a Kusturica... pero mas helado. La historia tiene cosas lindas, la foto ta wenisima, pero no llega a ser de las wenas-wenas.
Es una buena mirada a la vejez y la viudez, como sobrevivir vendiendo los recuerdos
March 25, 2009
El guion me gusto mucho al igual que la direccin fotogrfica.
January 31, 2009
Supuestamente es comedia, pero lo que da mas bien es tristeza jajajaja Supongo que mucha gente saldria disgustada del cine, lo que da gusto de ver son los escenarios y la bonita fotografia.
Page 1 of 4