The New World - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The New World Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Witney Seibold
CraveOnline
July 28, 2016
The filmmakers are very wise to make this New World, and the people in it, seem untouched, immediate, and present. There may be a small amount of cultural foreboding, but it is heard distantly, like an echo of lamentation.
April 18, 2016
One of those rare major-studio movies that happens to be quite artful, and beautiful - a feast for the senses and the spirit alike.
Nick Pinkerton
Stop Smiling
March 2, 2014
Great works, when they next-to-never come, are always accompanied by giggles.
Christopher Runyon
Movie Mezzanine
February 21, 2014
Malick manages to do something I never thought possible, and that's make America seem like a New World to begin with.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 14, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Michael Nordine
Not Coming to a Theater Near You
October 14, 2011
Discovery is a sensory experience by nature, and to lightly run one's fingers through someone's hair in The New World is to know them in some fundamental way.
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
June 10, 2011
It is about the dreams we have when we are awake but in a state of absolute peace and perfect self-reflection.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
April 20, 2011
Not Malick's best film, but more than up to his usual high standards, The New World is a powerful and emotional romantic drama, and an essential story in the history of America.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 30, 2009
Makes you view the world with virgin eyes again
Keith Uhlich
House Next Door
January 2, 2009
If I think I'm mostly going to keep coming back to [the 172-minute] cut (and I do hope, someday soon, for a Mr. Arkadin-like 3-cuts comparative DVD set) it's because it feels most fully realized.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
October 12, 2008
...the romance of the three humans is secondary to the romance of the New World itself and all it symbolizes.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Robert Davis
Paste Magazine
June 3, 2008
[Malick's] characters must consider their lives, consider each other, and resolve the situation like adults. And when they do, a story that seemed to be irredeemably broken snaps back together.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 28, 2008
An epic retelling of the Pocahontas story that, despite its flaws, leaves you slack-jawed with wonder at times.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Brandon Fibbs
BrandonFibbs.com
February 28, 2008
The New World is a thing of wild beauty, untamed and feral yet luxurious, sumptuous and lavish all at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Top Critic
David Ansen
Newsweek
November 1, 2007
These whispered ruminations are beautifully written, but whose voice are we hearing?
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
The Terrence Malick masterpiece I, for one, have been waiting for.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Lewis Beale
Film Journal International
March 1, 2007
A real work of art, a hearty meal in today's cinematic fast-food culture.
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
January 19, 2007
ill be cheered by a relatively small, but educated and curious contingent of ticket buyers.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Amy Taubin
Sight and Sound
September 28, 2006
A work of great intelligence, ambition and radiant beauty.
Page 1 of 9