Pride and Prejudice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pride and Prejudice Reviews

Page 1 of 9
November 10, 2005
So why, in no less than five miniseries and two official film adaptations of Pride and Prejudice, have we yet to encounter a satisfying screen Lizzie?
November 14, 2005
I just feel like I've seen this so many times.
November 16, 2005
In truth, there is little wrong with this film that would not have been excusable if it were the first version in two decades rather than six months. PRIDE AND PREJUDICE is competently made.
Full Review| Original Score: 5/10
November 10, 2005
This latest incarnation of Pride and Prejudice prompts the question: why do we need another version of Jane Austen's classic tale?
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 17, 2005
It's a fitfully engaging romance, it's just not Pride and Prejudice.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
November 11, 2005
Wright muffles the humor and drama and creates long, draggy stretches while other cast members flounder about in the wings, but Knightley forces certain scenes to spring back to life.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 11, 2005
Stilted yet sentimental, the melodrama leaves one feeling more depressed than elated, and Keira Knightley is far too beautiful to be anyone's 2nd choice.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 6, 2005
CliffsNotes version
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 31, 2012
This movie was stuffy, boring, cumbersome and all around annoying to me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 14, 2005
Comes across as prim and rigid, a feature bound by a corset.
| Original Score: 2/4
November 18, 2005
Wright paints by numbers, and often forgets the shading ... Knightley is a tin Lizzie, long on looks but short on depth and ladylike grace.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 9, 2005
With the BBC's 1995 miniseries starring Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle still regarded as the definitive treatment of the book, it will be an uphill struggle to win audiences to what is neither a faithful rendition nor a very interesting new interpretation.
January 19, 2006
It's quite 'agreeable,' as the fatuous Mr. Collins would say, but there's something disturbing about a Jane Austen adaptation that uses an ampersand as an official part of its title.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 6, 2005
Pride & Prejudice looks great, but the script goes heavy on the romantic comedy and light on Austen's signature social satire.
February 27, 2006
I wasn't moved by the romance, but the lush art direction, pretty music and gorgeous cinematography did get to me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 31, 2005
Writer Deborah Moggach's adaptation is sleek but lacks the judiciousness Emma Thompson brought to her terrific screenplay for Ang Lee's Sense & Sensibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 7, 2005
Any resemblance to scenes and characters created by Miss Austen is, of course, entirely coincidental.
November 10, 2005
If you're in the mood for a trailer to a Jane Austen theme-park ride, it'll do fine; just forget about consistent adaptation, sane casting or on-target performances.
November 10, 2005
There's nothing wrong with the current version that trimming and less devotion to the romance-novel mystique couldn't cure.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 11, 2005
Director Wright has replaced Austen's intelligence with the moony melodrama of the Bronte sisters.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 9