Why We Fight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Why We Fight Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Michael Joshua Rowin
Stop Smiling
December 17, 2013
Left-leaning audiences will readily agree with it, but the lack of ideas on how to take on such an enormous enterprise as the military-industrial complex limits the film's intrusion into reality.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
Surely, Jarecki's expose is an engrossing and startling documentary, but it never gives those who keep up with world events something they haven't known for years.
Brandon Fibbs
BrandonFibbs.com
February 28, 2008
Why We Fight is a shell-shock of a film.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Prairie Miller
WBAI Web Radio
September 29, 2007
While this misleading doc lauds neo-conquistador Eisenhower for coining and anticipating the military industrial complex, let's not forget how he propagated something else - the CIA extra-legal tactic of target assassinations.
Jason Gorber
Film Scouts
June 21, 2007
The film may find a niche and raise interest from those of both sides of the political spectrum.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Kam Williams
Upstage Magazine
March 31, 2007
U.S. imperialism exposed as a categorical imperative by this damning documentary about the Military Industrial Complex.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
January 17, 2007
Finally, the real reason we're stuck in Iraq.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Keith Phipps
AV Club
November 27, 2006
Ultimately, Why We Fight reveals itself as yet another leftie doc with an anti-war agenda. But the mere fact that it takes time to ask questions and listen to opposing viewpoints sets it apart from the pack.
| Original Score: B
Stuart Klawans
The Nation
November 11, 2006
How does all this disparate material fit together? Uneasily.
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
October 7, 2006
A film that stands out for its passion, ambition and clarion-call sincerity, even amid the contemporary onslaught of political documentaries.
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
July 4, 2006
Yes, the deck is stacked, but the converts that Jarecki presents are pretty convincing.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006
Extremely timely and urgently relevant.
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
May 24, 2006
The film's strength is that it isn't hesitant to name names on either end of the political spectrum
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
May 12, 2006
Is he preaching to the choir? Yes, but they'll find it beautiful music.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
April 21, 2006
When Jarecki segues into what could be called "Why We're Fighting" -- in Iraq, that is -- his film loses much of its focus and its power.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
April 14, 2006
A dense documentary that explores why America goes to war
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
April 6, 2006
Entertaining, informative and thought provoking "Why We Fight" clearly exposes the enemy within. Don't miss it.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
April 5, 2006
While Why We Fight comes across as strongly researched and well reasoned, it can be a slog through information that has been in the public sphere for some time.
Full Review | Original Score: C
John A. Nesbit
Old School Reviews
April 2, 2006
Jarecki reminds us that there is no reason to believe that U.S. supremacy is destined to last forever
Full Review | Original Score: B
Thomas Peyser
Style Weekly (Richmond, VA)
April 2, 2006
You might think that any explanation of so human an undertaking as war would give a nod to folly, ignorance and misguided idealism. You won't find any of that here.
Page 1 of 6