Why We Fight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Why We Fight Reviews

Page 1 of 6
December 17, 2013
Left-leaning audiences will readily agree with it, but the lack of ideas on how to take on such an enormous enterprise as the military-industrial complex limits the film's intrusion into reality.
April 29, 2009
Surely, Jarecki's expose is an engrossing and startling documentary, but it never gives those who keep up with world events something they haven't known for years.
February 28, 2008
Why We Fight is a shell-shock of a film.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 29, 2007
While this misleading doc lauds neo-conquistador Eisenhower for coining and anticipating the military industrial complex, let's not forget how he propagated something else - the CIA extra-legal tactic of target assassinations.
June 21, 2007
The film may find a niche and raise interest from those of both sides of the political spectrum.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 31, 2007
U.S. imperialism exposed as a categorical imperative by this damning documentary about the Military Industrial Complex.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 17, 2007
Finally, the real reason we're stuck in Iraq.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 27, 2006
Ultimately, Why We Fight reveals itself as yet another leftie doc with an anti-war agenda. But the mere fact that it takes time to ask questions and listen to opposing viewpoints sets it apart from the pack.
Read More | Original Score: B
November 11, 2006
How does all this disparate material fit together? Uneasily.
October 7, 2006
A film that stands out for its passion, ambition and clarion-call sincerity, even amid the contemporary onslaught of political documentaries.
July 4, 2006
Yes, the deck is stacked, but the converts that Jarecki presents are pretty convincing.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
June 24, 2006
Extremely timely and urgently relevant.
May 24, 2006
The film's strength is that it isn't hesitant to name names on either end of the political spectrum
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 12, 2006
Is he preaching to the choir? Yes, but they'll find it beautiful music.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 21, 2006
When Jarecki segues into what could be called "Why We're Fighting" -- in Iraq, that is -- his film loses much of its focus and its power.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
April 14, 2006
A dense documentary that explores why America goes to war
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 6, 2006
Entertaining, informative and thought provoking "Why We Fight" clearly exposes the enemy within. Don't miss it.
Full Review | Original Score: A
April 5, 2006
While Why We Fight comes across as strongly researched and well reasoned, it can be a slog through information that has been in the public sphere for some time.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 2, 2006
Jarecki reminds us that there is no reason to believe that U.S. supremacy is destined to last forever
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 2, 2006
You might think that any explanation of so human an undertaking as war would give a nod to folly, ignorance and misguided idealism. You won't find any of that here.
Page 1 of 6