Why We Fight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Why We Fight Reviews

Page 2 of 6
March 30, 2006
The fact is, Jon Stewart on The Daily Show uncovers this same hypocrisy every night, and does it in two minutes with irony and humor, while Why We Fight attempts it with outrage and scolding.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
March 26, 2006
Does a good job in stating its case in a detailed and sober manner.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 22, 2006
Yet another well-intentioned documentary that will preach to the choir but no one else.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 18, 2006
Wisely eschewing any pretense of journalistic objectivity, Jarecki has fashioned a canny indictment of the current administration's military adventures, limning an alternate history of the rise of the American empire over the past 60 or so years.
Read More | Original Score: 87/100
March 18, 2006
... canny and somewhat overwhelming documentary ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 17, 2006
There isn't a lot that's new in Why We Fight. Nor is it likely the anti-war film will preach to anyone but the converted. Nonetheless, it offers bits of intriguing history, and it urges us, perhaps, to reassess the stature of Eisenhower.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 17, 2006
unlike [in Fahrenheit 9/11, Why We Fight lets its subjects do the talking; there's no constant narrative presence like in Moore's film. And as a result, it's considerably more persuasive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2006
Fahrenheit 9/11 for tweedy liberals who disdain Michael Moore's in-your-face persona.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 17, 2006
An unflattering look at America's military-industrial complex.
March 16, 2006
Even if you don't agree with his analysis or conclusions, it's hard to see the cumulative weight of his [director Jarecki's] evidence as anything but prescient.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 15, 2006
Eugene Jarecki's Why We Fight takes on enough subjects to make five great documentaries, but as a result is so scattered that it doesn't quite make for one good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 13, 2006
It's hard to imagine a politician today addressing the public in Eisenhower's un-condescending, non-simplistic and honest terms.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 10, 2006
Much of the information here is old news, and Jarecki's cursory collage style doesn't help his cause. But this is a case of compelling evidence overwhelming the drawbacks of form.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 10, 2006
[Director Eugene] Jarecki says he was trying to connect our military past with the present. He doesn't do this as well as one might hope, but he certainly offers a fascinating treatise on current events.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 9, 2006
[Reduces] to zero the chances that any impartial observer will be genuinely swayed by this cinematic position paper.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 1, 2006
A stirring anti-war doc...deciphering fifty years of military misadventure.
| Original Score: 3/4
February 27, 2006
...puts together a persuasive case that the U.S. government is driven in large part by the needs of the "military-industrial complex"
February 25, 2006
Although [director Eugene] Jarecki (The Trials of Henry Kissinger) is clearly left-leaning, he takes pains to be fair and balanced by including commentary from right-wingers.
February 24, 2006
It's impossible to imagine anyone, right-leaning or left, coming away from this hugely important documentary unshaken by its representation of the United States and its military establishment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 24, 2006
Taken as a whole, Why We Fight is the work of someone who started with a conclusion and made sure he got there.
Page 2 of 6