Why We Fight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Why We Fight Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
May 13, 2009
| Original Score: 5/5
Brandon Fibbs
February 28, 2008
Why We Fight is a shell-shock of a film.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Jason Gorber
Film Scouts
June 21, 2007
The film may find a niche and raise interest from those of both sides of the political spectrum.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Kam Williams
Upstage Magazine
March 31, 2007
U.S. imperialism exposed as a categorical imperative by this damning documentary about the Military Industrial Complex.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
January 17, 2007
Finally, the real reason we're stuck in Iraq.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Keith Phipps
AV Club
November 27, 2006
Ultimately, Why We Fight reveals itself as yet another leftie doc with an anti-war agenda. But the mere fact that it takes time to ask questions and listen to opposing viewpoints sets it apart from the pack.
| Original Score: B
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
October 7, 2006
A film that stands out for its passion, ambition and clarion-call sincerity, even amid the contemporary onslaught of political documentaries.
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
July 4, 2006
Yes, the deck is stacked, but the converts that Jarecki presents are pretty convincing.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006
Extremely timely and urgently relevant.
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
May 24, 2006
The film's strength is that it isn't hesitant to name names on either end of the political spectrum
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
May 12, 2006
Is he preaching to the choir? Yes, but they'll find it beautiful music.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
April 14, 2006
A dense documentary that explores why America goes to war
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Cole Smithey
April 6, 2006
Entertaining, informative and thought provoking "Why We Fight" clearly exposes the enemy within. Don't miss it.
Full Review | Original Score: A
John A. Nesbit
Old School Reviews
April 2, 2006
Jarecki reminds us that there is no reason to believe that U.S. supremacy is destined to last forever
Full Review | Original Score: B
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
March 26, 2006
Does a good job in stating its case in a detailed and sober manner.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
March 22, 2006
Yet another well-intentioned documentary that will preach to the choir but no one else.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
March 18, 2006
Wisely eschewing any pretense of journalistic objectivity, Jarecki has fashioned a canny indictment of the current administration's military adventures, limning an alternate history of the rise of the American empire over the past 60 or so years.
| Original Score: 87/100
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
March 18, 2006
... canny and somewhat overwhelming documentary ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jack Garner
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
March 17, 2006
There isn't a lot that's new in Why We Fight. Nor is it likely the anti-war film will preach to anyone but the converted. Nonetheless, it offers bits of intriguing history, and it urges us, perhaps, to reassess the stature of Eisenhower.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
March 17, 2006
unlike [in Fahrenheit 9/11, Why We Fight lets its subjects do the talking; there's no constant narrative presence like in Moore's film. And as a result, it's considerably more persuasive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 6