Why We Fight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Why We Fight Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
February 16, 2006
After Ike makes his point in the opening minutes, the film itself essentially just elaborates it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Chris Barsanti
Film Journal International
January 20, 2006
...raises more questions than it answers in a fumbled attempt to get to the bottom of America's increasingly permanent state of war.
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
December 21, 2005
Facts that aren't redundant often border on being off-topic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
January 19, 2006
... even those of radical political persuasion might find it hard to accept Mr. Jarecki's argument that American militarism is, underneath the talk about freedom and democracy, a simple question of dollars.
| Original Score: 2/5
Prairie Miller
WBAI Web Radio
September 29, 2007
While this misleading doc lauds neo-conquistador Eisenhower for coining and anticipating the military industrial complex, let's not forget how he propagated something else - the CIA extra-legal tactic of target assassinations.
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
January 20, 2006
... this rehash of familiar pacifist arguments offers neither heat nor light.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
Surely, Jarecki's expose is an engrossing and startling documentary, but it never gives those who keep up with world events something they haven't known for years.
Thomas Peyser
Style Weekly (Richmond, VA)
April 2, 2006
You might think that any explanation of so human an undertaking as war would give a nod to folly, ignorance and misguided idealism. You won't find any of that here.
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
February 24, 2006
More leftist propaganda masquerading as documentary.
| Original Score: 2/4
Ron Wilkinson
Monsters and Critics
January 20, 2006
Ike Eisenhower lives on in a critique of the military-industrial complex. Is anyone surprised?
| Original Score: 6/10
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
April 5, 2006
While Why We Fight comes across as strongly researched and well reasoned, it can be a slog through information that has been in the public sphere for some time.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Michael Joshua Rowin
Stop Smiling
December 17, 2013
Left-leaning audiences will readily agree with it, but the lack of ideas on how to take on such an enormous enterprise as the military-industrial complex limits the film's intrusion into reality.
Top Critic
Allison Benedikt
Chicago Tribune
February 17, 2006
Jarecki seems to have had his answers before asking the questions. He's a master at filtering, at choosing the best quotes to bolster his argument and at connecting dots that, perhaps, shouldn't be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Michael Booth
Denver Post
March 15, 2006
Eugene Jarecki's Why We Fight takes on enough subjects to make five great documentaries, but as a result is so scattered that it doesn't quite make for one good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
April 21, 2006
When Jarecki segues into what could be called "Why We're Fighting" -- in Iraq, that is -- his film loses much of its focus and its power.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 18, 2006
In a post-9/11 world, Why We Fight is a dangerously naive propaganda piece whose logical arguments are quite dated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
David Denby
New Yorker
January 17, 2006
It's unconvincing and ineffective; the many patches of ideological montage, growing like kudzu throughout the film, weaken the impact of its best moments.
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
January 19, 2006
I can't help but be bugged by propaganda, no matter its point-of-view.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Shlomo Schwartzberg
Boxoffice Magazine
January 22, 2006
... Why We Fight is neither fair nor convincing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
February 24, 2006
Taken as a whole, Why We Fight is the work of someone who started with a conclusion and made sure he got there.
Page 1 of 6