Why We Fight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Why We Fight Reviews

Page 1 of 6
February 16, 2006
After Ike makes his point in the opening minutes, the film itself essentially just elaborates it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 20, 2006
...raises more questions than it answers in a fumbled attempt to get to the bottom of America's increasingly permanent state of war.
December 21, 2005
Facts that aren't redundant often border on being off-topic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 19, 2006
... even those of radical political persuasion might find it hard to accept Mr. Jarecki's argument that American militarism is, underneath the talk about freedom and democracy, a simple question of dollars.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
September 29, 2007
While this misleading doc lauds neo-conquistador Eisenhower for coining and anticipating the military industrial complex, let's not forget how he propagated something else - the CIA extra-legal tactic of target assassinations.
January 20, 2006
... this rehash of familiar pacifist arguments offers neither heat nor light.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 29, 2009
Surely, Jarecki's expose is an engrossing and startling documentary, but it never gives those who keep up with world events something they haven't known for years.
April 2, 2006
You might think that any explanation of so human an undertaking as war would give a nod to folly, ignorance and misguided idealism. You won't find any of that here.
February 24, 2006
More leftist propaganda masquerading as documentary.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 20, 2006
Ike Eisenhower lives on in a critique of the military-industrial complex. Is anyone surprised?
| Original Score: 6/10
April 5, 2006
While Why We Fight comes across as strongly researched and well reasoned, it can be a slog through information that has been in the public sphere for some time.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 17, 2013
Left-leaning audiences will readily agree with it, but the lack of ideas on how to take on such an enormous enterprise as the military-industrial complex limits the film's intrusion into reality.
February 17, 2006
Jarecki seems to have had his answers before asking the questions. He's a master at filtering, at choosing the best quotes to bolster his argument and at connecting dots that, perhaps, shouldn't be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 15, 2006
Eugene Jarecki's Why We Fight takes on enough subjects to make five great documentaries, but as a result is so scattered that it doesn't quite make for one good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 21, 2006
When Jarecki segues into what could be called "Why We're Fighting" -- in Iraq, that is -- his film loses much of its focus and its power.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
January 18, 2006
In a post-9/11 world, Why We Fight is a dangerously naive propaganda piece whose logical arguments are quite dated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 17, 2006
It's unconvincing and ineffective; the many patches of ideological montage, growing like kudzu throughout the film, weaken the impact of its best moments.
January 19, 2006
I can't help but be bugged by propaganda, no matter its point-of-view.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 22, 2006
... Why We Fight is neither fair nor convincing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 24, 2006
Taken as a whole, Why We Fight is the work of someone who started with a conclusion and made sure he got there.
Page 1 of 6