Why We Fight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Why We Fight Reviews

May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
November 27, 2006
Ultimately, Why We Fight reveals itself as yet another leftie doc with an anti-war agenda. But the mere fact that it takes time to ask questions and listen to opposing viewpoints sets it apart from the pack.
Read More | Original Score: B
October 7, 2006
A film that stands out for its passion, ambition and clarion-call sincerity, even amid the contemporary onslaught of political documentaries.
Top Critic
June 24, 2006
Extremely timely and urgently relevant.
March 30, 2006
The fact is, Jon Stewart on The Daily Show uncovers this same hypocrisy every night, and does it in two minutes with irony and humor, while Why We Fight attempts it with outrage and scolding.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
March 15, 2006
Eugene Jarecki's Why We Fight takes on enough subjects to make five great documentaries, but as a result is so scattered that it doesn't quite make for one good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 24, 2006
It's impossible to imagine anyone, right-leaning or left, coming away from this hugely important documentary unshaken by its representation of the United States and its military establishment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 24, 2006
More leftist propaganda masquerading as documentary.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
February 23, 2006
Whichever truth you hold to be self-evident, Why We Fight will encourage you to reassess your beliefs and reconsider the meaning of national security.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 18, 2006
Fluidly edited by Nancy Kennedy, Why We Fight interweaves these personal stories not only with history but with one another, yielding some choice ironies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 17, 2006
The strength of this documentary lies in its balance, or at least the careful appearance of balance. Both sides of the issue receive their due ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 17, 2006
Jarecki's thoughtful, nonconfrontational approach makes it absorbing viewing, regardless of whether or not you buy his arguments.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 17, 2006
Jarecki seems to have had his answers before asking the questions. He's a master at filtering, at choosing the best quotes to bolster his argument and at connecting dots that, perhaps, shouldn't be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 16, 2006
After Ike makes his point in the opening minutes, the film itself essentially just elaborates it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 16, 2006
Why We Fight has passion and ambition and research to spare. Too bad Jarecki didn't take a somewhat fresher, more balanced approach in making his case.
Read More | Original Score: B-
February 11, 2006
There is plenty here that should worry members of both political parties.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 10, 2006
Even if one disagrees vehemently with Jarecki's interpretations of events and history, it's hard not to be impressed by the rigorousness with which he gathers his arguments.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
February 10, 2006
A somber polemic that presents a convincing case against using war as an economic booster -- although, Jarecki argues, that is precisely what the United States has been doing under every president since Truman.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 9, 2006
Memo to left-wing anti-Bushies: Stories like this work. Don't lecture. Tell stories! Much better!
February 9, 2006
The film is a clear-headed anomaly of reason that one hopes won't get lost in the bicker-and-scream shuffle of TV punditry.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 28, 2006
Stands as a class-act stylistic rebuttal to Fahrenheit 9/11 -- it asks questions rather than bludgeons us with ridicule, and it has the grace to hint that we can think for ourselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 26, 2006
I would like to believe that we still live in a world, and in a country were people will want to see something and will want to be informed.
January 21, 2006
Compulsory viewing in an age when the war of words is every bit as entrenched (and fierce) as the one with weapons.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 20, 2006
Why We Fight wants to shake us up, and boy, does it ever.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 20, 2006
There have been so many protest pictures on the scene since the Iraq war began -- from Michael Moore, Robert Greenwald and other provocateurs -- that Why We Fight leaves you with a mild sense of deja vu rather than a fresh sense of outrage.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 20, 2006
... this rehash of familiar pacifist arguments offers neither heat nor light.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 20, 2006
Whether we've reached the critical mass of "misplaced power" is the gist of the current national debate, and Why We Fight is a useful tool in that argument.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 19, 2006
... even those of radical political persuasion might find it hard to accept Mr. Jarecki's argument that American militarism is, underneath the talk about freedom and democracy, a simple question of dollars.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 19, 2006
It's thoughtful, and you have to take it seriously and with respect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 19, 2006
Extends beyond the titular question to touch on such issues as why we are hated so much and why we get it wrong so often.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 19, 2006
In addition to the usual pontificators like Gore Vidal, whose world weariness has assumed Olympian proportions, the director provides interviews with such right-wing counterparts as Richard Perle and William Kristol.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 19, 2006
Jarecki's well-argued, if demoralizing, documentary is a thoughtful discussion of current U.S. foreign policy and lessons not learned.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 18, 2006
We're left with a vision of America grown accustomed, if not addictively numb, to the deadening spirit of war.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 17, 2006
Jarecki's film forcefully argues that the much abused word freedom cannot paper over the conflicts between capitalism and democracy.
January 17, 2006
It's unconvincing and ineffective; the many patches of ideological montage, growing like kudzu throughout the film, weaken the impact of its best moments.
April 2, 2005
A thoroughgoing and affecting film on the nature and causes of the American military-industrial complex.
February 2, 2005
Thoughtful and extremely well-made.