The Devil and Daniel Johnston - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Devil and Daniel Johnston Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 24, 2006
I viewed this as an outsider to his subculture and the film offered me little.
Full Review| Original Score: 6/10
April 7, 2006
The combination of Daniel's personal life and professional career makes for interesting viewing for the first 80 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 25, 2006
This astonishingly well-made movie stubbornly refuses to ask some important questions. Are we watching mental illness as performance art?
April 3, 2006
An inside look at the weird world of the cult hero of grunge rock who is, well, weird.
| Original Score: 5/10
April 20, 2006
You don't need to be Einstein to know that not all geniuses are mad. More to the relative point, not all madmen are geniuses.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 20, 2006
Perhaps Feuerzeig wanted to get away from the stereotypical 'talking head' interview, but by having the subject stop periodically to rinse and spit?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 8, 2006
A sad, occasionally funny but ultimately merely mildly interesting film.
March 30, 2006
Why he keeps being a called a 'musical genius' in the film is something my ears could never understand.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 31, 2006
As for the serious fans of his work, well, maybe I'm not getting something, but they seem like the craziest people in the movie.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 31, 2006
Devil turns out to be too indulgent and worshipful a film to justify its length (one hour and 50 minutes, including an interminable section on Johnston in high school), much less hold our attention for the duration.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 5, 2006
...shows just how easily hype and gossip can dupe a public hungry for anything new.
April 19, 2006
It's little more than a decently-compiled, fan-inspired research project as opposed to something organically resonant or artful.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2017
The Devil & Daniel Johnston is a remarkable look into the world of an artist that lost his mind and struggled to find it again
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 30, 2006
I can't tell if the movie means to leave us somewhat hopeful or utterly devastated by the way God treats his own geniuses.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.7/10
June 9, 2006
...works as a biographical sketch of the artist as madman and as a meditation on the prerogatives of genius.
Read More | Original Score: 93/100
April 14, 2006
Jeff Feuerzeig, who won the best director award at Sundance 2005 for this film, has started with a subject who has filmed himself and been filmed by others for more than 20 years.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 11, 2006
Though Feuerzeig's film isn't quite successful at underlining what exactly it is about Johnston's childlike art that makes him so appealing, the documentary works superbly at proving Johnston is insane.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 21, 2006
A searing, compassionate portrait of chronic mental illness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 30, 2006
The Devil and Daniel Johnston is undoubtedly the best movie anyone could have made about this unwitting practitioner of 'outsider' art.
April 3, 2006
It doesn't condescend [to Johnston], it doesn't exploit him. It just tells us about his life.
Page 1 of 6