Plan B - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Plan B Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Super Reviewer
½ January 11, 2012
This really is not a good picture...
½ April 17, 2011
Plan B could have used a Script B but it is quite funny and quirky this way too.
½ March 28, 2011
great cast can't save this gangster comedy-falls flat!
½ February 19, 2010
very hilarious mob-comedie, the plan has to be changed constantly because maloni keeps making the wrong hit, fran however comes up with good but sideways solutions and eventually shes in for a suprise... very good and entertaining performance of diane!
July 20, 2009
um, I can't believe I finished the movie. Enough with the helpless bubbly ditzo widow. She's worth more than that. The writing was terrible, plot left no secrets either.
February 22, 2009
Very cute film that (despite its unlikely premise) seems somehow grounded in reality
July 25, 2008
One Of My Favorites
Diane Keaton was phenomenal
½ November 15, 2007
This film is actually cute and underrated.
½ November 11, 2007
This was SO horrible!
½ October 5, 2007
this was a slapstick kinda funny, reminiscent of the 40's comedies, it had it moments. paul sorvino did a good job.
½ October 4, 2007
Diane Keaton ROXXXXXXXXXX
½ July 27, 2007
Oh, talk about a terrible movie...
July 21, 2007
Hilarious. Diane Keaton was so good.
½ July 19, 2007
Keaton is hilarious and the story is quite original. You'll get a good laugh out of this one.
½ April 13, 2007
I really must take the time to sit back and watch this one again. I can't believe that Diane Keaton would play a role in the trash I thought I was watching (and finally gave up) the first round.

Watch this space (when I watch it again)
April 28, 2006
Although it is not a great comedy, I thought it was amusing and entertaining. The fine cast helps. Not badly written. Good length, it didn't outstay it's welcome. Harmless fun.
½ April 14, 2004
Plan B is... well, it's an occasionally funny, pleasant enough little mob comedy. A black comedy, really, starring Diane Keaton as Fran Verrechio, a widow who is suckered into working for Joe Maloni (Paul Sorvino), the Mafia-wannabe who offed her husband. The nervous, highstrung Fran just about does a competent job as Joe's accountant... until one fateful day, she becomes his hitman. Or hitwoman, to be more precise. However, Fran is a little squeamish about actually [i]killing[/i] her marks, so comes up with a brilliant plan--she'll drive them all the way to Florida and leave them in her brother's house! As the 'bodies' pile up and Maloni shows no sign of letting her off, Fran digs herself deeper and deeper, even as one of her kidnappees James (Maury Chaykin) appears to be falling in love with her.

What reviews I've read of this film have generally painted it as completely dire. One even called it the worst movie ever made. Well, I certainly wouldn't go that far--my love for Keaton as an actress probably saved me from that. But even so, Plan B is rather enjoyable, if completely slight, as a film. It's funny in spots, and semi-amusing at others. At no point does the film approach brilliance, but it doesn't seem to take itself too seriously either, which helps a bit. The fate of Maloni--pure, crazy, over-the-top camp--was surprising but quite effective.

Keaton... well, she spent most of the movie on the edge of hysteria. Seriously. Keaton played Fran as a flighty, highstrung, extremely nervous old lady... who begins to discover a little of her own authority and strength as she kidnaps each of these gangsters, none of whom have any qualms about slapping her about and giving her as good as they get. It's probably hard for people who aren't fans of Keaton to stomach her performance--her mannerisms (giggles, fidgeting etc) are out in full force here, and one would probably have to blame director Greg Yaitanes for not reining her in a little. Nevertheless, Keaton is endlessly amusing, particularly when she faints, or displays an incredibly flexible body when she gets practically body-slammed into a wall and almost folds over backwards. In her character's quieter moments, Keaton is as effective a dramatic actress as ever. The muted disbelief and pain when she finally confronts Maloni over his having killed her husband are rather beautiful moments, as is her quiet think on the patio when she finds out who really killed her husband. She's also quite quite beautiful in this film, even when dressed in a sloppy suit with a hat perpetually glued to her forehead. At least Yaitanes talked her out of the gloves...!
Page 1 of 1