The Hoax - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hoax Reviews

Page 1 of 8
April 3, 2007
As a movie, The Hoax isn't a fraud but it's not the real deal, either.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 5, 2007
I kept hankering for the antic joie de vivre of Catch Me if You Can, which wholly gave itself over to what we love about the con men who dare to slough off the daily grind and do it their way. They have style to burn, and they don't give a damn.
April 7, 2007
Even Machiavelli would have raised an eyebrow at some of the double-crossings and dealings in The Hoax.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 3, 2007
A two-dimensional landscape.
August 3, 2007
Like Irving's book, it doesn't hold up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 6, 2007
The idea of what is and isn't plausible gets a lot of chiding play in The Hoax, and it's one that could have used more consideration in the formulation of its swell-talking centerpiece.
May 2, 2007
Like the film itself, Gere gives a performance that is meticulous and impressive but not magnetic.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
May 5, 2007
The film seemed pedestrian, flat, diffuse and, if I may say, as phony as most Hollywood mainstream films.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 16, 2008
Que Irving queira se sentir importante, é compreensível; que sua suposta cinebiografia compartilhe da fraude, nem tanto.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 5, 2007
We never establish an emotional connection with Irving. Even though we're caught up in his derring-do as he beguiles entire meeting rooms of jaded publishers and editors, we're kept at a dissatisfying distance from Irving and the movie.
December 4, 2007
It's hard to get a fix on what Hallstrom had in mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 6, 2007
if the story of Clifford Irving's phony autobiography of Howard Hughes is such a good one, why was it mutated with silly fictional flourishes?
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
April 5, 2007
Deeply problematic in large part because of Hallstr%uFFFDm's monomaniacal determination to turn Clifford Irving's story into a lively romp.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 14, 2008
Despite good energy and a source with ample potential, the film is held back by trite ideas.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
April 7, 2007
Consider it the ultimate bit of bad luck -- or an apt irony --that Gere's comeback is stolen by the consistently excellent Alfred Molina.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
April 28, 2007
a film about a fraudulent autobiography should have been either rigorously adamant about sticking to provable facts or more self-conscious in its manipulation of them
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 5, 2007
This lie-streaked retelling of a fraud aims not for the meta, but for history-repeating object lesson, explicitly drawing parallels between Irving and Nixon's cons and our current hoax-based regime. But it all rings hollow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 6, 2007
The Hoax never makes up its mind what it's trying to say, leaving Gere's fast-talking charisma with nowhere to go.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 6, 2007
Even as The Hoax works to wring emotional consequence from its many layers of lies, you're hard-pressed to believe it.
April 7, 2007
What The Hoax really needs is a storyteller of Irving's imagination and skill to create a lie worth telling and believing.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 8