Standing Still - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Standing Still Reviews

Page 1 of 14
June 9, 2016
A good funny movie, with an amazing young cast from my generation. It was funny and easy to watch.
Vraiment un bon film rempli d'acteurs connus de ma génération, drôle et facile à écouter...
December 17, 2012
Not a vry good movie ... Does motivate me to find the right girl, have close college buddies, graduate and GO TO LAS VEGAS!!
½ December 4, 2012
A decent effort that didn't turn out as well as it should have. it has it's moments, some humor, some drama. The ending kinda makes up for a lot. I'd probably watch it again.
April 6, 2012
Great young cast for a mediocre, seen it all before film. Some touching moments here and there, and the hen and stag parties were amusing, but overall this was just average.
½ April 6, 2012
Great young cast for a mediocre, seen it all before film. Some touching moments here and there, and the hen and stag parties were amusing, but overall this was just average.
½ January 22, 2012
Ummmmm....strange mix, perverted...some of it was ok, not really my cup 'o tea...too much crap in it...caught it on TV on a Saturday afternoon.
October 6, 2011
It was entertaining, but I don't think I'd watch it again. Good cast though.
½ August 17, 2011
COMPLETE LOAD OF BOLLOCKS.
xxdebxx
Super Reviewer
½ March 8, 2011
Elise and Michael (Amy Adams, Adam Garcia) are college sweethearts who are about to walk down the aisle and gather all of their old friends together to join in the celebration. Many of them have pasts all their own and haven't seen each other for years. As they each arrive at the house, joyous reunions quickly turn into awkward meetings that bring up both sweet and painful memories. Elise's old college roommate (Lauren German), who she had a secret lesbian relationship with when she they were in school, show up and try to change Elise's mind about the wedding. Her other friends (Melissa Sagemiller, Mena Suvari) are trying to figure out how to move on in their lives and from the things that have held them back. A dramatic subplot involving Michael's estranged father Jonathan (Xander Berkeley), who's battling addiction attempts to reenter his son's life. The movie contains excessive amounts of sexual immorality, indecent language, nude shots, and youthful hedonism.
½ February 19, 2011
actually a good movie
½ November 22, 2010
I kinda like it actually. A good balance between funniness & decency. Good acting by the majority cast including Lauren German, Amy Adams, Colin Hanks, Jon Abrahams, James Van Der Beek & Ethan Embry.
Super Reviewer
October 14, 2010
I just watched this movie, and I really liked it...alot. Sheesh. What's with all the bad reviews I am reading about this movie? Some of the things that were said didn't even sound like the same movie I just saw. Amazing. Well, I thought it was very charming, cute, and enjoyable.
August 30, 2010
The end was all right, but mostly this was just annoying.
½ August 8, 2010
An interesting enough movie to watch on a lazy weekend afternoon.
½ June 26, 2010
BHAHAHAHA hi-larious! ;D
½ May 12, 2010
There are many movies that don't make it to the big screen, but are still relatively entertaining and this is one of those movies. Standing Still is an ensemble comedy about a group of friends who come together as two of their own are getting married.

Filled with many well-known actors, this film shows what happens when your past and future meet in the present. Elise and Michael (Amy Adams, Adam Garcia) are college sweethearts who are about to walk down the aisle and gather all of their old friends together to join in the celebration. Many of them have pasts all their own and haven't seen each other for years.

Michael's friends (Colin Hanks, Jon Abrahams, Aaron Stanford) are all coming to forks in their lives, whether it be contemplating a marriage of their own or moving on from old loves. Elise has her old college roommate (Lauren German), who she had a relationship with when she they were in school, show up and try to change Elise's mind about the wedding. Her other friends (Melissa Sagemiller, Mena Suvari) are trying to figure out how to move on in their lives and move on from the things that have held them back.

Although this film didn't break any molds, it was an entertaining foray into the lives of twentysomethings trying to finally grow up. The large cast was made up of some great young talent. Hanks played against type as an agent who gets into a relationship with a younger girl. Ethan Embry, who has been in some great films (Empire Records, Sweet Home Alabama, Can't Hardly Wait), played an off-beat character who was actually kind of annoying and pathetic. James Van Der Beek rounds out this large cast as a drunk actor who is a ladies man.

The stories are melodramatic and some are pretty juvenile, but the appeal of the cast keeps the viewer engaged throughout. The chemistry between the cast is strong and this flick is easy to watch.
January 22, 2010
actually wasn't a bad movie... not great or anything... but not bad

C+/C
January 2, 2010
Some funny parts. I really like Adam Garcia but the movie left me thinking "why would you even bother?" it was a movie about nothing that didn't really explore anything except Michael's relationship with his father.
November 6, 2009
I liked it a lot. It was funny and genuine type of movie. Good grroup of actors with a good story. Don't know why the critics didn't.
Page 1 of 14