Conversations With God - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Conversations With God Reviews

April 21, 2007
A coda after the closing credits, encouraging divine dialogues in general, does little to dispel the hagiographic aftertaste.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 10, 2006
A terminally muddled movie, uncertain as to whether it's promoting Neale, God, Mammon, Putnam Books or the capitalist exploitation of spiritual need.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 10, 2006
Although Stephen Simon's film has the mawkish trappings of an inspirational tale, its unseemly emphasis on monetary matters makes Walsch seem less interested in the spiritual possibilities of his celestial networking skills than their financial benefits.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
November 2, 2006
This film adaptation of Neale Donald Walsch's best-selling book series plays more like an infomercial than a thoughtful exploration of religious issues.
November 1, 2006
What He does want, according to Walsch, is for us to have jobs we really like, and to make money. Lots of money.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
October 30, 2006
The story of Walsch's travails never strains credulity, though helmer Simon's predilection for spiritual vistas with light breaking through clouds, arrested close-ups and endless long dissolves often skirts kitsch.
October 27, 2006
Conversations with God is a bad film about good things that many people will find enlightening. Its message is admirable, its filmmaking as bland as a communion wafer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 27, 2006
If God did start speaking to some random homeless guy, wouldn't he come up with some better material?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 27, 2006
The 'God' in Conversations with God acts like a psychotherapist and talks in the buzz-phrases of self-help speak.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 27, 2006
God, if you exist, why do you keep letting morons like Walsch get rich?
Read More | Original Score: 0/4
October 27, 2006
One of Walsch's precepts is that you should never make a living doing something you hate. If I'd known that, I might not have felt obliged to sit through every excruciating minute of this sanctimonious infomercial.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 27, 2006
Watching Czerny's version of Walsch struggle, it's hard not to connect with him, even if you don't connect with his message.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 27, 2006
I don't doubt that Walsch's book has touched people. I don't even question whether he actually spoke to God. I just wish the movie itself shared some of his miraculous message with audiences.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 27, 2006
The movie claims the 'God inside me' concept is rooted in compassion, but it plays like nondenominational narcissism to me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 27, 2006
Spirituality is big business, especially on the printed page, but in movies we like the Big Message in the form of metaphor or allegory rather than a hammer over the head.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 26, 2006
It's inspiring to see how Walsch conquered the odds, but at times Conversations With God feels like a subliminal advertisement for the book.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 26, 2006
OK, Lord... For starters, since when do you talk like Dr. Phil?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 26, 2006
There's nothing particularly objectionable about the film (other than its inert movie-of-the-week structure) until Walsch takes his God-spokesman role too far in the final act.
October 26, 2006
Writer Eric DelaBarre and director Stephen Simon deliver Walsch's apotheosis without any trace of irony. But their treatment of his misfortunes has some of the ring of truth, even though the movie lingers far too long over its own epiphanies.
October 26, 2006
The film treats its subject to a hagiography rather than a dramatization.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 26, 2006
What's most glaringly missing in this self-promotional marketing tool is, of all things, God, who gets only a bit role as Walsch's muse in a few scenes. He really oughta fire His agent.
October 24, 2006
It's an agreeable enough tale right up until God butts in and starts talking; even if you can swallow the premise, it isn't particularly cinematic to watch a guy endlessly scribbling on legal pads.