Ken Park - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ken Park Reviews

Page 1 of 37
½ September 13, 2016
Bunch of ugly ass teens, mom hot as fuck. Not much action, ending was decent
½ August 11, 2016
Holy **** this is a bleak one; this film opens with a "found footage" public suicide. Not long after that we get an unsimulated autoerotic asphyxiation to completion. The sex doesn't stop there as the cover art suggests there's group sex and vast amounts of nudity. (I watch pornography) I think its absurd the phallus and the female nipple for that matter, have such societal stigmas. This is a film with a plot, not a porno; although they go much further with their honest depictions of sexuality, than your typical late night skinamax fair. In the cut I watched there was fellatio and ejaculation but oddly no unobscured penetration. I wouldn't be surprised if that existed in a cut of this film somewhere; they obviously filmed it to be as real a possible. I'm ok with it but this film intentionally is not for everyone . The violence is graphic as well; talk about not pulling any punches. There needs to be a place for ART like this. Parricide & Incest you're in for a disjointed ride; it's just like being a teenager confusing and turbulent.
½ April 22, 2016
Directed by Larry Clark and Ed Lachman, Ken Park tells the stories of some dysfunctional American families through the lives of teenagers/youngsters of California.
Created out of the journal of writer Harmony Korine, the 90 minutes long (approx) movie starts with the suicide of a teenage boy, name Ken Park, setting up the plot that happened before that incident.

The movie pens the stores of four different individuals of a small neighborhood in California.
Shawn a high-school student having a sexual relationship with his his girlfriend's mother without letting anyone aware.

Claude, a skate-board fanatic, living with his job-less father and mother who is expecting another child, spends time with friends taking drugs and watching porn magazines. One night his drunken father tries to sexually abuse him prompts him to leave the home.

Peaches, only girl among four of them, lives with his father who practices religion very strictly. One day he finds that his daughter having sex with his boy-friend which make him furious and ended up in organizing a quasi-marriage with the girl so that she can remain virgin.

Tate, the creepiest among all, a boy without any girl-friend or friend, always verbally abusive to his grand-parents, decides to kill his grand-parents in the middle of the night because he fancies that they are both liars and cheaters. After the gruesome stabbing of his grand-parents, he finds that act have given him sexual pleasure.

The movie ended up with a threesome between Claude, Peaches and Shwan. The last scene of the movie reveals the reason behind the Ken Park suicide in where he confesses that his mother should have abort him.

Stuffed with multiple sub-plots, the movie depicts the struggles, confusion and desires. Termed as erotic or pornographic, this movie is more than just a movie with sex scenes. The realistic approach of the movie partnered with unique lighting portrays the dysfunctional lives in a more grayish manner.
½ August 8, 2015
The sad part of this movie is that it is possibly true. The director tackles emotional, physical, psychological, and even spiritual abuse then redirects to teenage angst, promiscuity, sexuality, suicide, and coping mechanism to survive. We can hide the truth but it is happening out there, and I give props to the director's boldness to tackles issues especially when it comes to sex.
½ June 7, 2015
Larry Clark is the kind of creep that everyone seems to think that Harmony Korine is
½ October 3, 2014
Director Larry Clark's controversial 1995 film "Kids" was unique in the portrayal of teenagers being rowdy, sex-addicted (talking material & actual) troublemakers. "Ken Park" was the same, but it was mentally suffering. It's true that there are kids or teens that are looked down upon by their own parents, but the ones portrayed in the film were just too negligent; the same could be said for the teens as well. While the character Shawn was the most stable person (aside from cheating on his girlfriend with her mother) out of the group, the fact is he & the others were brought up with some negative background - Tate, the complete 180 of Shawn, was cruel & hated his caring grandparents whom he saw as annoying; Peaches was abused sexually by her fundamentalist Christian wife-obsessed father; & Claude was mentally & physically abused by his father while his mother did nothing (even though she was portrayed being pregnant, she could have been the voice of reason; hell, she was even smoking & drinking while pregnant! That's wrong!). As for the plot, it was unfocused. With the titular character (spoiler!) being killed off earlier in the film, you'd think the movie would focus on him, but no - it gave a brief description of showing his death & the reason why he did so (both placed at the beginning & ending of the film; nothing in the middle to further things). And as for the explicit sex & nudity, it may look appealing to some, but it was dull for Shawn & disturbing for the others.

I only saw at least 60 to 70% of "Ken Park" because the content had upset me to an extent. This controversial film was just not my cup of coffee & I can't stop thinking about it - all in all, it was pretty sad & despairing.
½ April 19, 2014
The movie shows drugs, sex and murder openly. The search for more love, privacy, respect, fear and support drives these teens to the brink and even beyond while still being bound by their communal love for skate boarding. The end is particularly well written and inspiring. While the events of the movie might be a little gloomy the ending is a great take from teen spirit and makes you smile. Overall a great watch if you like deep meaning cinema or even if you just want to see loads of nudity!
March 28, 2014
This is very confusing for me to review. It might have excellent performances. It has a powerful story. One thing is for sure, it's extremely exploitative, and Im not sure if for the right reasons.
January 3, 2014
Larry Clark isn't known for going easy on his audience. Here he shows once again the American teens in their worst state. Rebellious, ill at ease in their own skin but adds also this time the sickness of parents who feel desire and attraction to their own kids. It's not for the usual crowd but it deserves a look for the many questions it raises without giving any solutions but rather options to these complicated matters.
December 29, 2013
Strange, creepy, and often depressing, this movie is emotive and harrowing and borders on pornography at certain points.
½ December 13, 2013
Sick and Disturbing but Informative and Surreal
½ November 16, 2013
If you made a movie about the notion that "youth is wasted on the young", this would be the result. That, and the director is one horny creepy dude.
½ November 10, 2013
It doesn't truly make you feel anything except emotional detachment, and I looked at it more like an object, inviting scrutiny and enjoying every minute of it.
½ November 10, 2013
Alternating between brilliant and sort of juvenile, Ken Park is an interesting companion piece to Korine/Clark's previous collaboration Kids, but ultimately pales in comparison to it.
½ October 25, 2013
Totally messed up but in some ways it's interesting to look at those teenagers lives and think about it.
October 2, 2013
Hard to pin down. A concentration of the banality of disaffected teenagers lives punctuated with, by conventional standards, intense events, in a totally believable and matter of fact way. It's easy to see why censors don't like it, yet it's only really shocking for the contrast between the casual sex and family violence of reality which we're being 'protected' from, and the ridiculous love scenes and hyper-violence on cinema and TV screens every night of the week throughout the western world.
September 16, 2013
So, firstly, I have to say that there are some pretty filthy scenes in this, boundry pushing but a bit unnecessary. If you can get past that then it's not a bad film, sort of reminded me of Gummo. I do wonder if these young actors will ever work again, and some of the older, better known ones took big risks being in this film too. I can't help but think that the film was too much about trying to shock the viewer out of their comfort zone than to tell a story, but I can't criticise as I generally appreciate filmmakers with the guts to do what they want regardless of the expectations of society.
August 4, 2013
i just dont like pretending that "showing it" makes it art. or even interesting. larry clark has a strange knack for wanting to present "harsh realities" but never quite hones it right - he makes caricatures and puts them in overblown (almost ridiculous) scenarios.
Super Reviewer
½ July 16, 2013
Larry Clark teams back up with Harmony Korine after the provocative masterpiece that was "Kids", but this time to far different results. Whereas "Kids" had something legitimately important to say, and used its shock value to do so effectively, "Ken Park" feels like its trying to one up its predecessor without including any of the insight. Whereas "Kids" drew directly from Korine's experiences, this film delves into memories from Larry Clark's past. However, without anything to give the audience besides awe over how insanely controversial it is, the film instead feels like a self-indulgent, pseudo-pornographic retread.
July 13, 2013
Didn't like it , it was 4 stories mashed up without having any connections or anything to get you hooked. Boring watch.
Page 1 of 37