Funny Games - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Funny Games Reviews

Page 2 of 8
April 14, 2008
We want retribution, we want reparations, we want revenge, but Haneke refuses to submit to our pleas, because he's the storyteller, and he's the one playing the games...
April 9, 2008
It's hard to imagine why anyone would want to subject themselves to the harrowing brutality of 'Funny Games,' but give German-born filmmaker Michael Haneke his due - his movie is shockingly effective.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 6, 2008
It's not a reassuring vision but that's not the name of Haneke's particular game.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/6
April 6, 2008
A stylish, darkly satirical horror-thriller, raising serious questions about Hollywood's sanitisation of violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 3, 2008
At heart, Funny Games is about the totalitarianism of cinema itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 26, 2008
It's an intellectually and morally challenging film that'll still have you shouting at the screen and lurching in your seat with every jolt.
March 25, 2008
I defy you to find another movie with this much contempt for its audience.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 25, 2008
...static, slow-moving and perversely timid...
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
March 23, 2008
... Makes a valid point, but I didn't need a two-hour lecture to get it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2008
Not only is it a carbon copy, but such recent genre movies as 'Hostel' have examined the attraction of screen violence with greater immediacy and subversiveness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2008
The movie assumes you know all this already and shows it to you anyway.
March 20, 2008
That this relentless barrage of psychological and physical torture is extremely well made and powerfully performed -- Watts hurls herself into her physically demanding role with heroic conviction -- somehow makes it worse.
March 19, 2008
No, Michael Haneke's new version does not need to exist. Regardless of its inherent quality or lack thereof, it serves essentially no useful purpose.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 19, 2008
With the cult of cruelty wallpapering the media more than ever, and murders, wars and celebrity breakdowns as spectator sport, it was inevitable that the cinema of sadism would grab the untapped egghead arthouse crowd market. And the stampede is on.
March 19, 2008
I do recommend the movie for those who like seriously hardcore suspense...The violence is absolutely uncomfortable, but I think that point could have been amply made without the violation of reality
March 18, 2008
If he's not a master at making audiences squirm, (Michael) Haneke (Caché) is close.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
March 17, 2008
It's a realism meant to demonstrate how people who enjoy such movies are accessories to the proliferation of violence in media, and Haneke pulls it off with a master's touch.
Full Review
March 17, 2008
An art-punk lecture gone weirdly wrong, the film works in ways the director presumably never intended. But the nasty thing works all the same. The movie is a flawlessly engineered torture device.
March 17, 2008
Things turn really nasty, in ways that will shock and repulse. And yet it is difficult to look away.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2008
What many people will fail to realize is that this is a Dadaist exercise -- it is not concerned with traditional aesthetics, and is intended to offend, in order to destroy the current climate of filmmaking, and its fostering of a culture of violence.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
Page 2 of 8