Funny Games - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Funny Games Reviews

Page 1 of 7
David N. Butterworth
rec.arts.movies.reviews
September 5, 2015
A cool, calculated exercise in serious discomfort.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk
October 14, 2012
For an audience that willingly hands over fistfuls of cash to see men and women savagely tortured in the name of entertainment, Funny Games U.S. is just the director giving the people what they want. Enjoy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Wally Hammond
Time Out Sydney
September 12, 2008
This new version adds nothing novel, but it lacks none of the original's bite.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/6
Julie Rigg
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
September 12, 2008
If you saw the original, the elements of suprise may be missing, but dread and suspense and nastiness are translated perfectly.
Vicky Roach
Daily Telegraph (Australia)
September 12, 2008
We're left with the nasty taste of our own bloodlust long after the credits have rolled.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jake Wilson
The Age (Australia)
September 12, 2008
Registers more strongly than the original as a film about privileged white people...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Paul Byrnes
Sydney Morning Herald
September 5, 2008
It's a tawdry kind of horror movie plot, given new meaning by Haneke's considerable intellect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
September 5, 2008
I'm not at all sure that, in manipulating the audience to make his points, Haneke isn't as guilty of exploitation as the filmmakers and the films he's attacking here.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
June 18, 2008
The movie is unforgettable and will cause a reaction from you, whether you like it or not. Me? I liked it's sick, twisted sense of manipulating the audience
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
June 9, 2008
After several years of "torture porn" horror flicks, Funny Games sets the counter back to zero, reminding us that torture isn't fun, isn't stimulating, and isn't something we should be getting off on.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Robert Davis
Paste Magazine
June 9, 2008
In Funny Games, Haneke seems content to ram his thumbs into our eyes and then ask us why we were foolish enough to get within arm's length of his gray, grizzled visage.
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
May 6, 2008
toso idio me to prototypo, poy aksizei na to deis mono an den to%u0384hes dei, i an theleis na to ksanadeis
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Clint Morris
Moviehole
April 19, 2008
This is a piece of art. The direction is amazing, the performances are top-notch, and the pot-boiling pace is pitch-perfect.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 14, 2008
We want retribution, we want reparations, we want revenge, but Haneke refuses to submit to our pleas, because he's the storyteller, and he's the one playing the games...
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
April 9, 2008
It's hard to imagine why anyone would want to subject themselves to the harrowing brutality of 'Funny Games,' but give German-born filmmaker Michael Haneke his due - his movie is shockingly effective.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Wally Hammond
Time Out
April 6, 2008
It's not a reassuring vision but that's not the name of Haneke's particular game.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/6
Damon Wise
Empire Magazine
April 6, 2008
A stylish, darkly satirical horror-thriller, raising serious questions about Hollywood's sanitisation of violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
April 3, 2008
At heart, Funny Games is about the totalitarianism of cinema itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
James Rocchi
Cinematical
March 26, 2008
It's an intellectually and morally challenging film that'll still have you shouting at the screen and lurching in your seat with every jolt.
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
March 21, 2008
The movie assumes you know all this already and shows it to you anyway.
Page 1 of 7