Freakshow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Freakshow Reviews

Page 1 of 5
August 24, 2013
A fairly typical rip-off from The Asylum, Freakshow is a mostly lame and uninspired remake of Tod Browning's classic Freaks. Most of the film is boring, but the ending is extremely twisted if you can sit through the first 80 minutes without falling asleep.
½ March 18, 2013
didn't finish the movie..its bad
July 1, 2012
Garbage. Complete and utter garbage. This movie completely ripped off Tod Browning's "Freaks" all the while calling itself a "tribute". It gives us nothing but raunchy sex, too much gore, and a terrible ending that leaves everyone watching it disappointed. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. In fact, if you find a copy, burn it.
½ June 26, 2012
the only cool thing about this movie, were the last 10 gruesome minutes of it!
½ June 15, 2012
Freakshow is one of the finest Asylum films and either you love it or hate it. I seriously find this a fine movie in my personal opinion it's not bad but it's not great either it's just a fine movie although it is better than the other Asylum flicks. Freakshow is a fine low budget remake of Tod Browning's 1932 film Freaks and the plot is about a group of thieves who seek refuge in a circus where they plan to steal from the owner and once they realized that they double crossed one of the freaks they realized that the freaks are going to kill them and the thieves must escape before they all die. Now I was ok with Freakshow it's a pretty nice low budget remake and it has a lot of different styles and it's slow pace during the opening scene but it's ok at least it has some great gore effects and a lot of incredible stylish themes and tones. What I do like about Freakshow is that the film has a lot of actual freaks and performers as well. I like the looks of the Freaks and the performers and they really look like actual freaks and performers as well and I like the big guy and I think that he's the best among all of the freaks and I was fund of the big guy a lot I also like some of the little guys as well in Freakshow as well I also like the girl with two sides the one with black hair on the left side and white side on the right side so far I like all of the freaks in this movie. What I was fund of this movie is that the film also has some great gore effects and all of the kills are brutal and gory plus really graphic as well. The scene where the youngest member of the freaks gets killed by the thieves is one of the most graphic parts in the film because the way she gets killed by the thieves is so graphic and gory as well and it's one of the nastiest parts of the film. The scene where the thieves gets killed by the freaks is one of the most brutal kills in a Horror film while the last part of the movie is one of the nastiest and the most graphic scenes in Horror movie history because the way the freaks mutilate her to change her into The Worm Girl is seriously graphic and hard to watch and that scene will seriously make you feel sick because that scene is so gory and graphic and hard to watch as well. Now about the acting most Asylum films has some films with horrendously bad acting take Halloween Night as an example because that film has some really bad acting. But in Freakshow I had mixed feelings with the acting so mainly the acting in this movie is decent to say the least and there are some decent acting in this movie and I could seriously compare the acting of this film to the acting of 666 The Child because like I said in my review of 666 The Child the acting ranges from Mediacore to Amazing and incredible acting because 666 The Child had some improved performances over this film or it's sequel 666 The Beast and Exorcism The Possession Of Gail Bowers(which had some bad acting) so mainly the acting in Freakshow is completely decent from the opening scene until the end and I still like the acting in 666 The Child better but Freakshow has better acting than the lousy Halloween Night so far. What I was also fund of this movie is the soundtrack all of the songs are really circus songs and I was fund of the entire soundtrack in the film so far. Overall Freakshow gets a 7/10 because this movie has some great gore effects and a good storyline but the film has decent acting. So mainly this is the second best Asylum film first goes to 666 The Child the best Asylum film ever made.
May 27, 2012
Freakshow, to be frank, is an awful movie. The acting is bad, the pacing is incredibly slow, and the plot is very superficial. The only "great" moment of the movie is its final act: a very gruesome scene that sort of redeems the movie a bit.
May 15, 2012
Very suck. I expected more blood and violence torture. The last part of movie is a little bit gore with Rebekah Kochan skinned alive. Honestly, the whole part of movie so lame and boring.
May 13, 2012
Slow, annoying, with a poor leading actress, and a huge rip-off of Tod Browning's Freaks in more ways than one... but if you can stick it out until the final scene it may gross you right the heck out.
January 28, 2012
ANOTHER SICK AND TERRIBLE FILM!!!!!! WEIRD THROUGHOUT AND ALL OUT GROSS!!!! I HATE IT!!!!!
October 20, 2011
Slow, annoying, with a poor leading actress, and a huge rip-off of Tod Browning's Freaks in more ways than one... but if you can stick it out until the final scene it may gross you right the heck out.
October 11, 2011
A freakshow of a crap film that never seems to end.
Super Reviewer
½ September 25, 2011
I watched about 10 minutes total of this movie...that was enough. Just bad.
Super Reviewer
½ July 28, 2011
There is no action...at all. It is just plain horrible.
June 22, 2011
just watch the last 10 min! say hello to wormgirl!
May 16, 2011
Yeah this movie was pretty bad. Basically its about this chicks whos sleeping with everyone and then decides to seduce the owner of the freak show in order to marry him and take him for what he's worth. Pretty boring up till the "freaks" get their revenge. Then it just makes ya nausious, but that lasts a whooping 5 mins. So 5 mins of good movie in this 1 hr and 30 mins.
August 17, 2010
on the cover of the dvd, it says that freakshow was banned in a number of countries, and that caught my eye, unfortunately it wasn't that scary nor that great. it takes a very long time for the violence to come and when it does, its somewhat disturbing, especially the ending. overall its about a sadistic family who will torture and do anything if you talk bad about them. the ending is the most entertaining, but like i said it was somewhat disturbing and hard to watch. its not very entertaining.
½ August 17, 2010
This is definitley the best film I've seen from The Asylum. Yes, it's completely ripping off Tod Browning's excellent 1932 classic we all know as Freaks, but I enjoyed the hell out of this film! Now, I'm not saying it's as good as Browning's version, which is an amazing film, but it's one of the better rip-off films that I've seen from The Asylum. I thought most of the acting was just fine, and gore effects were quite good, it definitley delivered the goods in that final sequence, which I have to say that scene was freakin amazing!
August 3, 2010
Very suck. I expected more blood and violence torture. The last part of movie is a little bit gore with Rebekah Kochan skinned alive. Honestly, the whole part of movie so lame and boring.
May 29, 2010
A freakshow of a crap film that never seems to end.
½ May 28, 2010
This could've been so much better if they didn't waist time making it a porno..... :S Tear, tear~
Page 1 of 5