You Kill Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Kill Me Reviews

Page 2 of 6
July 20, 2007
You Kill Me feels like a lightweight throwaway, but it remains in the memory longer than expected.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2007
Like his deliciously original Last Seduction, director John Dahl returns to the wild side in You Kill Me, an odd and somewhat puzzling crime drama that throws the viewer for a loop thanks to its deadpan humour and absurdist narrative.
July 20, 2007
A dryly funny and demented film featuring the most likable hit man you'd ever want to meet.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 18, 2007
The kind of movie that will have a far longer shelf life than most of the largely disposable big summer blockbusters dwarfing it at the box office.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 16, 2007
Ben Kingsley, or Sir Ben as he's called on the other side of the Atlantic, is an odd choice to play a hard-drinking Polish hit man from Buffalo, N.Y.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
July 15, 2007
The deadpan tone doesn't always finesse us past the satirical plot absurdities ... but the whole is reasonably enjoyable, buoyed by another of Kingsley's scarily intense performances.
July 15, 2007
Were it not for a couple of overbroad scenes and a few flat notes of forced wackiness ... might have been one of the year's more subtle pleasures, a bittersweet snapshot akin to Jarmusch's Broken Flowers
Full Review | Original Score: 81/100
July 14, 2007
A lot more clever than it initially appears.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 13, 2007
This dark-themed and morally dubious yet weirdly lighthearted crime comedy seems to both satirize and celebrate the forgiving, nonjudgmental nature of 12-step recovery programs.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 13, 2007
You can pinpoint the exact moment You Kill Me descends permanently into idiocy.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 13, 2007
A grown-up movie with droll, sophisticated humor and a deliciously subversive sense. We don't see too many of those any more.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 13, 2007
An amusingly wry effort that's refreshing, particularly amidst all the overblown, story-deficient summer blockbusters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 13, 2007
Ultimately the movie stands as a testament to grownup love, the kind where all faults are exposed and dealt with, one day at a time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 13, 2007
One of those self-consciously quirky indie films that will strike some as comic genius while leaving the rest of the audience scratching their head.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 13, 2007
When Frank stands up at a meeting and confesses that he wants to kick the bottle so he can devote himself more fully to killing people, "You Kill Me" achieves a perfect black-comic pitch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 13, 2007
Director John Dahl resists the urge to overbake the comedy, letting an unexpected undercurrent of pathos give this more heft than it probably deserves.
July 12, 2007
As dark comedies go, You Kill Me nearly hits all the right targets, playing like a tongue-in-cheek hybrid of Prizzi's Honor and Clean and Sober.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 12, 2007
[Leoni's] collaboration with Kingsley does provide moments of comedic excellence. Too bad those moments donâ(TM)t add up to enough to save the film from its ponderous messaging.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 10, 2007
Itâ(TM)s a small wonder. When was the last time you saw this much talent lent to the story of a man who discovers what it means to really live only after learning he doesnâ(TM)t need any help from the hard stuff to kill?
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 8, 2007
There's more comedy in the tale of a drunk assassin than you might expect, and a surprising amount of heart, too.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 2 of 6