You Kill Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Kill Me Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
April 28, 2011
Where Dahl succeeds is in transforming two essentially tired characters into fully fleshed-out human beings who fall in love.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
May 13, 2009
| Original Score: 4/5
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
May 1, 2008
A sweet black comedy about a professional killer from Buffalo whose gangster uncle makes him join Alcoholics Anonymous in San Francisco, falls in love with a down to earth saleswoman and cleans up his act so he can be a neater killer.
Anthony Quinn
Independent (UK)
December 7, 2007
Domesticating the mobster within society has become almost a commonplace, thanks to The Sopranos, but Kingsley's tight-lipped gruffness gives a lift to the mordant ironies of the script.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
December 7, 2007
Ben Kingsley brings a batty, basilisk wit to You Kill Me, a black comedy about a dipsomaniacal hitman.

The Sun (UK)
December 7, 2007
Kingsley shows a surprising talent for deadpan comic delivery.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jim Hall
Film4
December 7, 2007
A great cast and a great script make this a surprising recommendation as a first date movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

Daily Mirror (UK)
December 7, 2007
A fitfully amusing black comedy about an alcoholic assassin, its well-drawn characters drown in a generic gangster plot and a painfully low budget.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tom Charity
Total Film
December 7, 2007
An uneven black comedy-thriller that's nonetheless worth catching for Téa Leoni's bracingly sharp performance and the inspired idea of putting hitman Ben Kingsley into AA. Just focus on the well-etched characters and don't worry too much about the plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tim Evans
Sky Movies
December 7, 2007
The opening six-minute shot of dawn breaking over a rural landscape is worth the price of admission alone. Stunning.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Elliott Noble
Sky Movies
December 7, 2007
All dilutions aside, director Dahl mixes a dash of Six Feet Under with shots of Mr & Mrs Smith and Grosse Point Blank to put the kick into an enjoyably spiky little cocktail.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 4, 2007
The film isn't without its flaws, but in defying Hollywood convention, it manages to reach parts other comedies cannot reach.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
September 12, 2007
Not a masterpiece, mind you, nor the funniest thing you could see on a lazy summer afternoon; but a fine motion picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Scott Bowles
USA Today
September 1, 2007
Surely there aren't many emotionally fragile mobster stories left in the Hollywood arsenal. But at least Kill is a pretty good shot with the laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
August 19, 2007
Slays me over its colorful amusing characters even if its story underwhelms me.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
David N. Butterworth
rec.arts.movies.reviews
August 3, 2007
I could watch Kingsley and Leoni for days. They're the film's true draw.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jonathan Kiefer
Sacramento News & Review
July 23, 2007
[Director] Dahl exudes such a casual control; his lightness of touch reads as a concern for good form, like knowing how to squeeze a trigger instead of pulling it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
July 20, 2007
You Kill Me feels like a lightweight throwaway, but it remains in the memory longer than expected.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Angela Baldassarre
Sympatico.ca
July 20, 2007
Like his deliciously original Last Seduction, director John Dahl returns to the wild side in You Kill Me, an odd and somewhat puzzling crime drama that throws the viewer for a loop thanks to its deadpan humour and absurdist narrative.
Page 1 of 6