You Kill Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

You Kill Me Reviews

November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
September 1, 2007
Surely there aren't many emotionally fragile mobster stories left in the Hollywood arsenal. But at least Kill is a pretty good shot with the laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 14, 2007
A lot more clever than it initially appears.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 13, 2007
One of those self-consciously quirky indie films that will strike some as comic genius while leaving the rest of the audience scratching their head.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 6, 2007
An unpredictable, enjoyable mob comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 6, 2007
A strong performance by the reliable Kingsley, and a tartly sweet one from Leoni, keeps You Kill Me from turning into the bad joke the title implies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 6, 2007
A film whose deft blend of action thrills and gallows humor packs a jaunty kick and a firing-range boom.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 6, 2007
With strong lead performances and sure-footed direction, You Kill Me isn't terrible, it's just not nearly as smart or interesting as it should be or as it seems to think it is.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 6, 2007
It's a predictable but acridly pleasant 12-step bonbon: self-help noir.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 6, 2007
Given a choice between a dark film with comic elements and a comedy that purports to be edgy, the filmmakers took the easy way out.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 27, 2007
Along with the splendid principals, [the secondary cast] round out an extraordinarily accomplished ensemble.
June 25, 2007
Everybody hits just the right notes...It's just a lot of fun.
June 23, 2007
The story's grasping, eager-to-displease setup never establishes enough depth to be fully engaging, let alone metaphorically significant -- and why else make a movie about a psychotic kicking hooch in order to be a better killer?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
June 22, 2007
For an hour and a half it exerts its own preposterous reality, making you believe it -- and like it.
June 22, 2007
In the moment, You Kill Me is never less than mildly entertaining, and it's almost never more than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 22, 2007
Eventually it's just too much of a bad thing -- and only leaves you wondering why you began it at all.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 22, 2007
You Kill Me really belongs to Kingsley, whose character's deadpan reactions to his new environment are priceless. He really kills.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 22, 2007
John Dahl returns to the quirky black-comedy genre where he began his career in the late '80s. It's good to have him back there.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 22, 2007
A film that manages to find sunbeams between the corpses and drunks.
June 22, 2007
Who knew there was such a high burnout rate in hit men? And who knew they suffered from so many varieties of treatable neuroses? And who knew they were such amusing guys?
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 22, 2007
Leoni is a welcome sight here, temporarily giving up attempts at sunny-sexy blond roles and going with her sarcastic nature.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 22, 2007
No offense to Sir Ben, who does a mean deadpan, but his performance here is frequently more dead than pan -- which, given the material, was probably the wisest acting choice.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 22, 2007
With its shadows and gallows humor, You Kill Me goes about as dark as a comedy can go before turning into tragedy or self-parody.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 21, 2007
We've seen the inner lives of hit men and mobsters rendered innumerably in recent years on film and television, but You Kill Me does it in a satisfyingly comedic way, loaded with easily identifiable idiosyncrasies.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 21, 2007
It has its amusements.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 21, 2007
One of those rare occasions where going too low-key means missing many comic possibilities.
Read More | Original Score: B-
June 21, 2007
You Kill Me may not look like much. But you root for it anyway, if only because it tries so hard to do the right things in a different way.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 21, 2007
This droll combination of coldblooded murder and romantic comedy uses Ben Kingsley's renowned intensity to uproarious effect.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 21, 2007
This crime comedy has such a goofy script and such an eccentric cast that it kept me curious about what would happen next.
June 21, 2007
When Leoni's character learns what Frank does for a living, her look of puzzlement is marvelously subtle. You Kill Me has a lot of little moments like that.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 21, 2007
A completely amoral world delivered with wit and incisiveness, and great twists.
June 21, 2007
Mixing the comic and the thrilling in roughly inverse proportion to what one would have hoped, Markus and McFeely's script supposedly kicked around Hollywood for years before attracting Sir Ben's interest, and its age shows.
June 20, 2007
[A] precious, inert dud of a hitmen-are-people-too comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: D
May 5, 2007
With an eclectic mix of strong-minded thesps all pulling in slightly different directions, this shape-shifting genre hybrid successfully commingles 12-step therapy, romantic comedy and hit-man thriller.
May 2, 2007
Yet another hilarious cinematic depiction of a professional hit man's angst.
April 30, 2007
Enjoyable low-budget black comedy.