Pittsburgh - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Pittsburgh Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ August 6, 2015
A truly heartfelt and heartwarming movie. I have just recently started to study the career of Jeff Goldblum, (watching movies, searching for interviews), and the character he portrays in this film is truly him. Pittsburgh shows the extent love can take, not just a Hollywood actor, but anyone. However, this film is more than just a love story. It gives us a glimpse into the pain I would expect most Hollywood actors feel, but especially Goldblum, when taking on a role, and trying desperately to live up to the world's expectations. His face in several scenes writhes in agony as he realizes he just can't do what was supposed to be an easy, classic character. He begs to God before opening night for help. This film is far from an attempt to boost Goldblum's ego, rather an attempt to reveal what lies inside every Hollywood actor. This film is much more than a simple love story, but rather a journey into the aching heart and mind of the quirky Jeff Goldblum we all love.
August 17, 2014
(First and only viewing - Fall 2009)
½ July 24, 2014
This is a hilarious documentary aimed at anybody who loves Goldblum as much as I do... and hilarious turns from Conan and Moby just add to the fun.
½ February 10, 2014
I'm a fan of Goldblum and really enjoyed Pittsburgh as it displays his persona taking on ridiculousness. This could have been a terrible vanity project but wound up having a quirky heart and soul.
January 5, 2013
"Curb Your Enthusiasm" with Jeff Goldblum and a piano instead of a tuba. Which ends up being great fun. Moby steals every scene he's in.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
½ July 9, 2011
This is quite a funny mockumentary reminding me why I used to enjoy seeing the name Jeff Goldblum on a cast list. Here he plays himself, Jeff Goldblum, with the sudden desire to forgo his film career (much to his agent's exasperation) and star in a local theater production of The Music Man back in his hometown of Pittsburgh. Problem is, he only realizes he can't really sing and can't really dance until he has already shmoozed his way into the lead role to the chagrin of some in the theater company. Meanwhile, his friend Ed Begley Jr. gets him involved in a potentially financially ruinous solar energy scam, and another friend Illeana Douglas begins dating Moby who, as Jeff discovers, has some peculiar fetishes. One of those rewarding discoveries that reaffirms why I keep giving little unknown films a chance.
½ April 27, 2011
Yes it's lightweight, but it's also clever and so disarmingly free of pretense that it's almost impossible to resist.
February 17, 2011
Thoroughly quirky and enjoyable to watch. I had a blast with it. Definitely worth seeing. [dvd 2011-02]
November 27, 2010
I hate mockumentaries and I am not the greatest fan of Goldblum.
November 14, 2010
How could you do this to me Jeff Goldblum? I trusted you. I trusted you!!!
August 25, 2010
Is it just a coincidence that so many movies fail to totally make good on a strong premise and solid first act, or do I just have a short attention span? Fun enough, if a bit unfocused, and the subplot about Illeana Douglas dating Moby kind of steals the show.
April 10, 2010
I wouldn't put it up there with Best in Show, Waiting for Guffman, or even A Mighty Wind. It's not as funny as those, but it does seem very real. And Goldblum is always good no matter what film he's in.
½ January 3, 2010
I was in the Music Man in high school, I live near Pittsburgh, and I too got really upset when I went on the Conan O'Brien show as second guest! I really only watched this to see if it was really going to be in Pittsburgh and how much of the city was actually in the movie....didn't seem like much. Best part of the movie was when I recognized the juggling mime. Oddly enough he was at a grand opening of the store I work at. He tried to teach me how to juggle and got a bit irritated when I wouldn't follow his directions.
November 7, 2009
I'm sorry, but this was awful. I only really watched it because of the title and the only good thing about it was the Pittsburgh scenery and all. Other than that its a complete waste of time.
October 12, 2009
love that this was filmed in Pittsburgh...funny, especially if you're a 'Burgher!
August 27, 2009
Goldblum is great. Rewound the alcohol-on-the-back-of-his-neck scene about 15 times.
½ August 21, 2009
fun for an easy watch- but not really much there- in a way- just an ego movie- "i am older and famous- i will make a documentary about myself ".sorta. i do like jeff goldblum a lot. is moby really a porn adict?
½ August 14, 2009
Very funny. Goldblum really shines in the pseudo improv-mockumentary about his starring in an off-off-Broadway version of The Music Man in Pittsburgh. Check out his face during rehearsals -priceless
February 18, 2009
A mockumentary (or perhaps documentary) starring Mr. Jeff Goldblum and he returns to his home town of Pittsburgh where he is to star in a local musical production of "The Music Man." A bit of a "Curb Your Enthusiasm"/Christopher Guest chatty nervousness and glee runs through this odd dissection of a man and a role. I thoroughly enjoy the eccentricities of the Goldblum, as I do enjoy Curb and some of Guest's stuff. If you don't like any of this type of thing, you'll probably hate the film.
Ah, but you see Goldblum really did star in the Pittsburgh production of "The Music Man", the young singer he is engaged to in the film really was his fiancee at the time. That is his real mother, but not his step father.
It's a nice whimsical and light walk through the send up of egos and art, levels of reality, crafted or improvised. Here is Goldblum, a man who essentially has played one personality in all his roles, and now in this local no-pay theater production is finding that this personality, this "eccentric, flighty Jeff Goldblum" will not cut it in the part of Harold Hill. He's got to conjure up something that Hollywood has beaten out of him. Does he succeed?
The movie suggests he does, but in reality his performance was seen as off kilter, then again that is just a perception...
January 12, 2009
I love the city of Pittsburgh, my hometown, but the movie....not so much. Jeff Goldblum puts on a good performance, but it was lackluster for me!
Page 1 of 4