Alvin and the Chipmunks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Alvin and the Chipmunks Reviews

Page 1 of 6
November 19, 2008
Filled with cheap slapstick, annoying high-pitched singing, and a variety of fart gags, all of which amused my daughter but not me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 18, 2008
Colourful but uninspired.
October 1, 2008
It has its fun moments, especially when those little guys sing "Funky Town."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 20, 2008
This new movie nicely updates the chipmunks into the realm of CGI animation and seamlessly places them in the real world.
May 18, 2008
They're baaaaack.
March 4, 2008
There is a chance I have simply outgrown Alvin, Simon and Theodore. But I can still recognize a quality film and this isn't it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
February 29, 2008
The screenwriters capably update the 49-year-old critters for socially relevant times, give or take a little suspension of disbelief.
| Original Score: 3/4
February 9, 2008
OK!!! Here I sit - and I'm not kidding about this - typing away and listening to a song that could be one of the first bits of music I ever heard.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
February 3, 2008
A lot like candy, sweet and pleasing, but ultimately disposable and empty...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 17, 2008
When Dave achieves such relative maturity, Claire likes him again, ensuring that you know he's appropriately heterosexual. What she thinks of mothering little furry creatures doesn't come up.
January 6, 2008
Nem mesmo o visual engraçadinho dos esquilos e a ironia de David Cross conseguem trazer charme a um roteiro óbvio e sem graça, à atuação sem vida de Jason Lee e à direção frouxa de Hill.
| Original Score: 1/5
January 3, 2008
...has clearly been geared exclusively towards younger viewers (indiscriminating, undemanding younger viewers at that).
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 24, 2007
Who decided 'Witch Doctor' - with its nonsense lyric 'Oo-ee, oo-ah-ah, ting-tang, walla-walla, bing-bang' - needed a hip-hop update?
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 21, 2007
It's one of those movies where the wretched actors have to pretend to know what's going on as the CG effects take place beside and around them. They do their best. But it's Alvin and co that toddlers will appreciate.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
December 21, 2007
An endearing effort that will appeal to under-10s with its slight tale of the three all-talking, all-singing rodents.
December 21, 2007
Kids will be nuts about this chipmunk movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 21, 2007
While sure to secretly entertain the child in all us adults, here's a flick absolutely guaranteed to entrance the under-10s.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 21, 2007
Trite family values, mediocre CGI and a shallow anti-exploitation message do little to fill the fun-gap. Still, hard to deny the buck-toothed buggers their one moment of glory: an a cappella take on 'Funkytown'.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 21, 2007
Nippers will love it (it did incredible opening weekend business in the States) but adults may find themselves idly dreaming of gin traps.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 21, 2007
Pure hell.
Page 1 of 6