Alvin and the Chipmunks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Alvin and the Chipmunks Reviews

Page 1 of 6
December 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
December 14, 2007
I was also grateful that Alvin wears a red sweater with a big 'A' on it as an aid to identification, since otherwise all the chipmunks seem to be identical, like Mutant Turtles or Spice Girls.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 14, 2007
Kids at the preview screening ate it up but everyone else will probably be shouting 'ALVIN!!! SHUT THE F*** UP!'"
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
December 13, 2007
It becomes a little difficult to distinguish exploitive "Uncle Ian" from the folks trying very hard to keep this fragile idea alive and making money. The big difference is that Uncle Ian wears out the Chipmunks and this movie wears out its welcome.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 14, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 14, 2007
Alvin and the Chipmunks goes in one eye and out the other, featuring a CGI Alvin, Simon and Theodore interacting with a human-ish world.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 17, 2007
It's fairly awful.
December 14, 2007
You could do worse.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 14, 2007
I guess we should count it a Christmas miracle that the film is merely bad, rather than apocalyptically bad.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 4, 2008
There is a chance I have simply outgrown Alvin, Simon and Theodore. But I can still recognize a quality film and this isn't it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
December 13, 2007
Sure, the jokes are obvious, the plot's a little corny -- but c'mon, it's a movie about talking chipmunks.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 14, 2007
This film features what look like living plush toys.
December 13, 2007
preplanned pandering at its most callous.
| Original Score: 1/5
December 14, 2007
Alvin isn't nearly as bad as Fox's marketing has been threatening, but it isn't a delight either...a glorified direct-to-video release.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 14, 2007
...disposable junk that'll probably be forgotten in a month.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 18, 2007
It's not that bad. It's just kind of gross and upsetting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
December 14, 2007
Sure, rodents are hot this year. But unlike Ratatouille's chef prodigy Remy, these mischief makers bring nothing new to the table.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 14, 2007
It's as if the capitalistic ventures of entertainment and the development of new technology have joined forces to ruin my childhood memories.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 19, 2008
Filled with cheap slapstick, annoying high-pitched singing, and a variety of fart gags, all of which amused my daughter but not me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 14, 2007
Hollywood continues its tired milking of old television properties with Alvin and the Chipmunks, a slick updating of the musical-cartoon franchise.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 6