Blood Car - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blood Car Reviews

Page 2 of 12
½ December 6, 2010
There's a thin line between hilarious black comedy and boring slightly gory waste of time. They cross it after approx. 25 minutes.
½ December 1, 2010
Interesting premise, not bad low-budget production value, but ultimately serving-up some weak sauce.

The script was terrible, as if not even given a second glance before filming.

Question: How the fuck can you kill the person with the blades in your trunk to use their blood to fuel your machine when you are out of blood and your engine will not turn-over? The blades are connected to the engine!

I realize this film was made with the intent to be stupid, cheesy, campy, but it just doesn't work.

Talk about a waste of everyone's time and money, Alex Orr.... and Mike Brune has a face that you just want to punch, repeatedly. Fuck this movie.
½ November 14, 2010
This was far better than I was expecting, considering that the DVD menu offered such options as "Watch this fucker!" and "More shit about this fucker." This was less about any sort of commentary on gas prices, and more about the lengths to which people will go to pursue something they think they want, even when there are better choices right in front of them...which, in a roundabout way, I guess you could tie into the whole gas issue, if you really tried.

But if you get right down to it, "Blood Car" is really just a reimagining of "Little Shop of Horrors," or even "A Bucket of Blood." Well, for most of its running time, at least: an undesirable main character suddenly starts getting attention by way of a plot device that requires constant and repeated murder to keep the charismatic effect going. But even though this is a low-budget retelling of the same formula, it manages to work. For awhile.

The cinematography is actually pretty decent, the writing is often unexpectedly humorous, and the pacing for the first two acts of the film works fairly well...then things begin to fall apart in the third act. Granted, there weren't too many ways a story like this could have wrapped up, but it could have gone better than the farcical last half hour or so.

Then there are the plot holes. Why are meat and vegetables sold in two little stands out by a playground? If gas is so expensive, how is food getting transported (let alone grown, since modern agriculture depends entirely on the fossil fuel industry), in the first place? The movie breaks the fourth wall a bit, and acknowledges that a car that runs on human blood makes no sense, so I guess I can let that one go at least. But still...

Yeah, I know. I shouldn't be quibbling about things like that, and they only hurt the movie slightly. What hurts it far more--besides the third act--are the really unnecessary tasteless bits. It's not as bad as the DVD menu would lead you to believe, but at the same time, I really don't need to know what the "bad girl" from the meat stand is sticking up the main character's ass. Things like that pop up a little too often, and don't really add anything to the story.

But, it could've been a lot worse. "Blood Car" could have been just another "Pot Zombies," or "Die, You Zombie Bastards!" (sans zombies, of course). Instead, it has a (mostly) coherent narrative, decent acting for an indie flick, and better writing than I was anticipating. Worth a rental, but that's probably about it.
½ November 11, 2010
Blood Car is the type of film that you'll run across the box in the video store and you know it's a 50/50 shot that the film will be worth the price of the rental, but this one does pay off little by little and at the end of the day it's a good semi-original splatterfest. In the near future, two weeks to be exact, gas prices have skyrocketed and a young man is experimenting with wheatgrass juice as an alternative fuel. Well one day in the lab he cuts himself and blood falls into the gas tank and the engine is running, so to keep his car running it's going to take human blood. Let the splatterfest begin, the film doesn't try to be taken seriously and at the same time most of the humor is not jammed in your face, which keeps the film enjoyable.
October 26, 2010
Tromaesque style fun that could have done with another fiver throwing into the budget, probably doubling it.
October 11, 2010
This is one of my top favorite movies. Even though it has a low-budget, it has a really funny script and the cast is really likable.
½ October 7, 2010
Totally stupid movie! Loads of blood, but not gross!
October 4, 2010
haha... That could be a really bad gimmick, or a hilarious one.
August 8, 2010
Made with - I suppose - less than 50 bucks in the spirit of Roger Corman, it's silly gory and sleezy (Katie Rowlett is hotter than hell!) as we like it.
March 22, 2010
It is what it is, you need to see it.
November 18, 2009
Blood Car is an independent horror flick satirizing the high gas prices in a future that is, apparently, not too far off. The cover of the DVD boasts all of the unknown film festivals that the film circuited, as well as a few nominations. I could care less about those accolades, but what really drew me in was the fact that it's a car that runs on fucking blood!

Let's clear something up here. The car does not murder people for blood. This is not a new-wave indie version of Maximum Overdrive. The premise is that a young vegan teacher is trying an experiment to fuel his engine with pure organics, but accidentally slices his hand in the process. The blood trickles down the tube and into the engine and VOILA! Gold.

There is enough boobs and blood to keep the weary horror fan happy, but, in all honesty, the film is actually pretty funny. That alone deserves some merit, and there are plenty of clever moments scattered throughout the film that made me laugh. The film is only 76 minutes long, so it's short and to the point. It's worth checking out if you're with a group of friends, or if you're drunk. Or both.
½ October 23, 2009
Silly and hilarious and bloody and violent and irreverent and wonderful.
September 24, 2009
Not as stellar as it might have been, but it made me laugh out loud twice (Anna Chlumpsky's drawing and "I have candy and makeup in my trunk"). I love that it has a green theme, yet mocks leftists relentlessly.
August 26, 2009
Ridiculous! Improbable! Hilariously Bad! Fresh! Raunchy! Weird! Bland! Low Budget! Me and my girlfriend think we liked it.
August 7, 2009
Human blood is the first alternative to gas I would try.
May 6, 2009
Full of unfunny jokes and bad acting, It was like a bunch of friends with a video cam made a movie in one day. I have seen better movies on youtube.
May 5, 2009
You'd think I'd learn my lesson after buying "Monster Dog" - you thought wrong. Owen told me about this and I was excited after I heard the ridiculous title. Garbage. It wasn't funny, and it wasn't scary. A vegan uses human blood to fuel a car - this sounds like shit Tom Bergeron could come up with. Owen described it as a "soft core porn" but he was wrong, it was a soft core porn with a car.
Super Reviewer
April 15, 2009
Silly beyond words, but worth it.
½ March 24, 2009
Instant classic B-movie
½ February 23, 2009
Hilarious comedy - pulls out all the stops, including pit stops, which is to say there are no dull patches. The competing vegan and meat stands are classic. Great dialogue; gory, dirty, filthy humor; Anna Chlumsky!
Page 2 of 12