The Lovely Bones Reviews

Page 1 of 9
April 10, 2020
I was drawn to the film because of Peter Jackson's involvement, but the creativity of the imagery did not astound me.
January 23, 2020
The emotional core of The Lovely Bones should be closer to Heavenly Creatures, but Jackson has sacrificed feeling for effect.
June 7, 2019
Like Jackson missed the target completely and instead hit the cat standing 30 feet away from it.
May 11, 2019
Despite all its promise, the film left me cold. I just never completely bought into the experience, which seemed to be calculated and lacking the heart and depth it so desperately wants to convey.
November 4, 2018
The desire for showmanship gets in the way of characterization and plot.
June 22, 2013
This movie has about seven different tones it hops around, and it does so at all the wrong times.
February 18, 2012
November 18, 2011
April 4, 2011
Your own peace will come after you walk out, trying hard not to laugh at how crazy-bad it all is.
March 30, 2011
Unshackled by earthly restraints, Jackson shifts his Weta toolsets into overdrive in a more-is-more free-for-all frenzy.
October 27, 2010
The talented cast struggles with, and is eventually failed by, the material. They are not aided by their director either, who seemingly stood slightly off screen and urged them to 'act bigger!'
July 4, 2010
The film is such a misfire, such a disappointing collection of failed attempts at emotional affect and confounding storytelling choices, that it seems more like a bad director's attempt to rip off Jackson's style than his own work.
June 12, 2010
No hay manera de tomarse en serio, al menos no en el marco de una película que debió ser perturbadora y conmovedora en partes iguales, la serie de momentos Kodak imposibles con que Peter Jackson intenta retratar la vida después de la muerte.
May 25, 2010
Only Tucci's chilling, truly scarier than Hannibal Lechter psychopath holds the far too fanciful scenario together, bolted to planet earth as best he can.
May 2, 2010
Pet peeves and stylistic differences of opinion work against Heavenly Creatures director
April 9, 2010
I never read the novel, so I have no idea if it is as tedious as Peter Jackson's movie.
April 1, 2010
Uludo potro%u0161ena sjajna gluma%u010Dka ekipa u djelu %u010Diji zbrzani scenarij luta izme%u0111u depresivne drame, krimi-trilera i crne komedije
March 26, 2010
click to read full review
March 25, 2010
Peter Jackson nails the dreamy atmosphere of a film straddling life and death in this story of a teenager caught between Earth and heaven.
March 19, 2010
Peter Jackson is an infant sitting at the grown-ups table, and this proves once and for all he has no business making movies for adults.
Page 1 of 9