Zack and Miri Make a Porno - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Zack and Miri Make a Porno Reviews

Page 1 of 647
October 29, 2017
Zack and Miri is slow and doesn't know how to make us laugh without gross out or sexual gags.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
September 28, 2017
Very shocking and fruity comedy, Really funny though, It's Seth Rogen making a porn film, That should be enough to either scare you away or reel you in, But it does have a certain charm thanks to onscreen chemistry between literally all the cast, They make this film have more heart than you would think possible in a film like this, Just don't watch it if you blush easy.
September 25, 2017
I absolutely love this movie. It is so ridiculous and off the wall. It's crude, funny as hell, and even has an adorable little love story in it.
July 7, 2017
hahhahhah this movie was really funny ! =)
April 29, 2017
I laughed a lot while watching "Zach and Miri." And if (mostly) clever, and (always) raunchy dialogue is what you're looking for, stop looking. You've found it.

It's not as sentimental as "Chasing Amy," and it's more sentimental than "Clerks." But the problem with it's sentimentality, regardless of how much of it there is, is that it's entirely paint-by-numbers. The archs are exactly what you'd expect, and it doesn't break any new ground in terms of storytelling.

But again, this is a very funny movie. So maybe the story won't matter to some of you.
April 22, 2017
An underrated Kevin smith movie, I think it's hilarious and touching metaphorically.
April 14, 2017
One of the best movies with Seth Rogen in it. It's nice to see his more serious roles.
March 23, 2017
I recall not really liking this upon first watch back in '08, but it's actually pretty funny. Jay's dick is an unnecessary addition but beyond that it's definitely worth another watch if you've forgotten about this movie as I had.
March 18, 2017
This is alright, it's funny but noting speacial
March 13, 2017
First off : I am a Kevin Smith fan. You've been warned. Second : Seth Rogen. I have a thing for him.

Okay, the reason this movie got no attention when it came out is documented is WELL is Kevin Smith's auto-bio. My own opinion is, the title sucked. Not memorable, didn't roll off the tongue, and the word "porno" are probably valid reasons. Main characters Zach (Rogen) and Miri (Elizabeth Banks) are roomates and friends since they were little kids. they are also living the dream, maxing out credit cards on Fleshlights and not paying the electric bill. Zach is a barista (eeew), Miri apparently works at a yarn store (?). It's right before Thanksgiving the perfect time for a high school reunion, which they go to. They "catch up" with Miri's high school crush, who is now in a relationship with a man-on-man porno star (Justin Long is the funniest you will ever see him being as Brandon St. Randy). If that and being filmed wearing "granny panties" wasn't enough, Zach and Miri go home to find all their utilities are shut off. The obvious thing to do is... make a porno ! (In the View Askewniverse this is always a possibility... added bonus is Randal in his dream job : cameraman !) The cast in this film is great, Craig Robinson, Traci Lords, and Katie Morgan as well as one of the guys from Forty Year Old Virgin are all very funny and Jason Mewes is, as always, memorable for his comedic timing and best lines (and in this movie, something even more special). Smith bashes his won movie, saying it had a predictable ending... but the trip getting to the ending is what matters here. Every horrendous thing that could happen does happen while they film "Star Whores", including being "frosted like a cake". Does true love rule ? Does everybody get rich ? Hellz yeah. There is a fake ending in this, so watch the credits. I love this movie and have seen it several times... Smith should've fought harder for this film (and come up with a better title...). I caution anyone who doesn't enjoy porn or admit to watching porn avoid this, even though there is no graphic sex ... Anyone who is a soundtrack nut will love the music in this film, and if there is a soundtrack for this movie out there somewhere... let me know ! Dutch rudder with a friend and watch this movie.
February 17, 2017
Funniest and dirtiest romantic comedy ever
January 5, 2017
I enjoyed this even if it isn't one of this groups best efforts
December 2, 2016
I love "Zack and Miri Make a Porno" right up until Zack and Miri actually make their porno. Then my laughter dries up. What I didn't know back in 2008 when I first watched "Zack" was that this Kevin-Smith-film-laughter drought would last eight years ... with no end in sight.

The first half-hour of this film - particularly the high school reunion scene - is as hilarious as any of Smith's previous work. The second and third acts, however were excruciating. Smith is comfortable when his characters talk endlessly about sex, but when it comes to actual sex scenes, the level of humor plummets to that of fifth grade boys in the back of the bus. Even though I don't care for Smith's subsequent films, I still watch each in hopes of again thrilling to grand slams, rather than grounded outs and wimpy singles.

(Please note, however, that I continue to relish the videos of Kevin Smith's personal appearances, as well as the genius of his "Comic Book Men" series. Without question, I annually buy a season pass to "Comic Book Men.")

I wouldn't dream of advising Kevin Smith on what kind of films to make. Who knows? Even if he consciously tries to imitate his previous successes, that would probably backfire, too. Hell, times change. All I know is that I want Kevin Smith to again make films that brought me as much joy as the string that started with "Clerks" and ended with "Clerks II," whatever form these new films might take.

So I will continue to religiously watch every new Smith film, regardless of the consensus of opinion of critics and the general public. I just can't promise (nor, alas, even anticipate) that I'll like any of them. That makes me sad.
November 26, 2016
Not that funny and moves away from the believable relationships and dialogue I'm used to from KS
November 19, 2016
I really liked this movie until it decided to end before the rest of the movie was tied up. Still a hoot to watch though.
½ November 14, 2016
Let us fuck!! Funny story, good laughs and a few gross out gags.
October 27, 2016
Stupid Rogen comedy. How many can he do?
September 27, 2016
This is a decent comedy with Seth Rogen & Elizabeth Banks. The first time I saw this movie it was funnier than the 2nd time but I still enjoyed its sillyness. Overall, it's good but not very good or excellent. Some of the jokes are hilarious and others are not.
September 17, 2016
Seth Rogen and Elizabeth Banks makes magic together.
½ September 13, 2016
A raunch fest that is often funny, but lacks a strong motive to go with it.
Page 1 of 647