Zack and Miri Make a Porno - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Zack and Miri Make a Porno Reviews

Page 1 of 647
January 5, 2017
I enjoyed this even if it isn't one of this groups best efforts
December 2, 2016
I love "Zack and Miri Make a Porno" right up until Zack and Miri actually make their porno. Then my laughter dries up. What I didn't know back in 2008 when I first watched "Zack" was that this Kevin-Smith-film-laughter drought would last eight years ... with no end in sight.

The first half-hour of this film - particularly the high school reunion scene - is as hilarious as any of Smith's previous work. The second and third acts, however were excruciating. Smith is comfortable when his characters talk endlessly about sex, but when it comes to actual sex scenes, the level of humor plummets to that of fifth grade boys in the back of the bus. Even though I don't care for Smith's subsequent films, I still watch each in hopes of again thrilling to grand slams, rather than grounded outs and wimpy singles.

(Please note, however, that I continue to relish the videos of Kevin Smith's personal appearances, as well as the genius of his "Comic Book Men" series. Without question, I annually buy a season pass to "Comic Book Men.")

I wouldn't dream of advising Kevin Smith on what kind of films to make. Who knows? Even if he consciously tries to imitate his previous successes, that would probably backfire, too. Hell, times change. All I know is that I want Kevin Smith to again make films that brought me as much joy as the string that started with "Clerks" and ended with "Clerks II," whatever form these new films might take.

So I will continue to religiously watch every new Smith film, regardless of the consensus of opinion of critics and the general public. I just can't promise (nor, alas, even anticipate) that I'll like any of them. That makes me sad.
November 26, 2016
Not that funny and moves away from the believable relationships and dialogue I'm used to from KS
November 19, 2016
I really liked this movie until it decided to end before the rest of the movie was tied up. Still a hoot to watch though.
½ November 14, 2016
Let us fuck!! Funny story, good laughs and a few gross out gags.
October 27, 2016
Stupid Rogen comedy. How many can he do?
September 27, 2016
This is a decent comedy with Seth Rogen & Elizabeth Banks. The first time I saw this movie it was funnier than the 2nd time but I still enjoyed its sillyness. Overall, it's good but not very good or excellent. Some of the jokes are hilarious and others are not.
September 17, 2016
Seth Rogen and Elizabeth Banks makes magic together.
½ September 13, 2016
A raunch fest that is often funny, but lacks a strong motive to go with it.
September 8, 2016
A lot of high quality laughs.
September 5, 2016
Generic, mostly unfunny comedy
½ September 3, 2016
In an attempt to vault himself back into mainstream success, writer/director Kevin Smith released 'Zack and Miri Make a Porno', a romantic-comedy that feels too often like a Judd Apatow film with a heavy injection of Smith's trademark raunchy comedic style. However, with a strong, easy chemistry between Rogen and Banks, a script full of jokes that just manage to hit more than miss, and a highly likeable cast of characters, 'Zack and Miri' overcomes its cliched and contrived storyline enough to make it worth the watch.

Final Grade: B-
½ September 3, 2016
In an attempt to vault himself back into mainstream success, writer/director Kevin Smith released 'Zack and Miri Make a Porno', a romantic-comedy that feels too often like a Judd Apatow film with a heavy injection of Smith's trademark raunchy comedic style. However, with a strong, easy chemistry between Rogen and Banks, a script full of jokes that just manage to hit more than miss, and a highly likeable cast of characters, 'Zack and Miri' overcomes its cliched and contrived storyline enough to make it worth the watch.

Final Grade: B-
August 29, 2016
Zack and Miri has a ton more heart than most Rogen starring movies. That being said, it wasn't nearly as funny as it could have been. I actually found it to be a better commentary on desperate economic situations than it was actual comedy really.
August 22, 2016
Not one of Seth Rogen's best movies but still pretty solid.
August 19, 2016
Wasn't awful, certainly wasn't spectacular. Had a few good laughs, but ultimately it was very predictable.
August 13, 2016
Not funny enough to hold your interest and not interesting enough to make you laugh.
August 8, 2016
Kevin Smith can be one funny writer, and this is no exception. Good characters and extremely funny dialogue.
July 18, 2016
Charming, but feels lightweight for Kevin Smith.
½ July 13, 2016
"Zack and Miri Make a Porno" succeeds due to incredible charm from Banks and Rogen, in addition to Smith's talent for getting away with reprehensible vulgarity by being so darned sweet and heartfelt in every filthy frame.
Page 1 of 647