What Love Is - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

What Love Is Reviews

Page 1 of 6
November 4, 2012
If you like movies where they talk non-stop and really fast and its hard to keep up and nothing much else happens - then this one is for you.
June 11, 2012
still don't know what to think..
½ February 23, 2012
has the feel of a stage play or TV sitcom but that aside still a good look see
August 22, 2011
Excellent movie, great cast, great plot...very well done.
½ August 2, 2011
A better play than a movie, but a LOT of good dialogue
June 19, 2011
mmmmmm well which a bit but i was not into it i tryed
xxdebxx
Super Reviewer
June 13, 2011
Plot: Tom plans to surprise his girlfriend Sara with an engagement ring, and he's asked his four best friends to witness the popping of the question at his place on Valentine's night. Trouble is Sara's left him a "Dear John" letter and will be by soon to pick up her suitcases; plus, thinking it's a party, Tom's friend Sal has invited five women to come too.

Cuba Gooding Jr. is great as the dumped on character who doesn't know how he's going to get his girlfriend back while Mathew Lillard was amazing as Sal, (especially in the scene about monogamy) and it`s nice to see Gina Gershon back on screen (looking hot as usual).

Because it explodes stereotypical attitudes on love, sex and the games people play, the film takes the form of conversation where the characters take turns telling their story, their gripes on love and the opposite sex! First the men, then, the women! It's smart and funny and best enjoyed by those who've made a relationship mistake or two and can afford to laugh at themselves. It's a fiendishly accurate depiction of the extreme positions we take over love and sex. Watch this uninhibited movie and absorb the raw truth and wisdom, complete with the F-bombs and sexual descriptions.
May 16, 2011
This movie works as a statement of the frustrations people have with connecting. The dialogue is a fandango of friends expressing their frustration with the games they have to play to find and connect with the objects of their affections. The is a good enough mix of the male and female points of view for the constraints of a whimsical look at the world and the dance to find love. If the move had a flaw for me, it was that the pacing gave the hint that the clock was running and resolutions where rushed.
½ April 24, 2011
One of my favorite movies..
August 10, 2010
Awsome dialogue. Love Mars Callahan!
May 27, 2010
great cast but not a good movie
May 16, 2010
Hilarious!!! LOVE Gina Gershon!
½ March 5, 2010
a classic beautifully dialogues vision of relationships and how men and women actually see them. Inciteful, extraordinary and laugh out loud funny!!!
½ January 28, 2010
Kind of wierd, but not bad. Shiri was awesome!!!
December 23, 2009
fast paced intriguing ensemble movie in the style of breakfast club that explores wildly "what love is." virtually the whole movie takes place in an apartment and the subject matter is explored through a number of lenses personified by the characters. be forewarned, the r rating comes mostly from language - sailor comes to mind... but you sure gotta pay attention or you'll miss a lot as the dialogue was rapid fire.
½ November 29, 2009
this probably would make a better play or made-for-tv movie. lots of soapboax rants on relationships do make for interesting conversation.
November 23, 2009
Movie was... interesting I guess. Tom Riley and his friends come to his house talking about girls, his gay friend comes in saying "Guys are supposed to talk about sports, games, etc. Not girls, you guys are like the ladies" That, I couldn't agree, cause I thought guys ONLY talk about games or sports. There's not many guys out there who talks about girls, like sensitive caring feeling before, so it was weird to watch this movie. But this movie just helps Tom Riley to move on since he is a good man. And his friends are trying to help him realize how good friend he is and he deserves better. But I thought the stripper scene was... random... I mean wtf?
October 1, 2009
i don't even know what love ls ..
September 12, 2009
It was really just monologue after monologue...It got kinda old after 20 mins or so.
August 21, 2009
While the content of the conversations in the movie were decent at times, the delivery was so forced and rigid. Overacting, and under editing.
Page 1 of 6