Elegy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Elegy Reviews

Page 1 of 6
August 15, 2011
A proven favorite, the Horny Old Devil Professor - Ben Kingsley in Isabel Coixet's intelligent but weepy drama.
July 29, 2011
Your final affection for this literary treat of sorts is how well you accept the finale, which is touching, and intellectually potent, yet possibly one depressant too many.
October 23, 2009
There are moments when the story sags, as it postures and revels in its own eloquence, but with strong performances and a moving final act, this is still a fine, thought-provoking film.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 13, 2009
No se ubica entre lo mejor de la directora Isabel Coixet, pero es de todos modos una interesante y sensible reflexión sobre la soledad, el amor, el sexo y la madurez. Gran trabajo de Ben Kingsley.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 10, 2009
A film which stays and stays.
April 10, 2009
An intelligent tale of aging, beauty, love and loss.
April 10, 2009
Coixet has blunted the impact of the novel's ending just as she has softened Roth's misanthropic depiction of Kepesh and, as a result, she's taken flak for being over-polite. I didn't care.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 3, 2009
Ben Kingsley is extraordinary, but Penelope Cruz is just astounding as Consuela. It is really a beautiful film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2009
Beauty, obsession and longing are the central themes of this hypnotic but ultimately flawed drama in which Ben Kingsley's ageing college professor falls in lust with Penelope Cruz' stunning and vulnerable student.
November 10, 2008
With his fierce, impeccable craft Kingsley shows us around David's tortured, preening, desperate psyche.
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 18, 2008
Sparse, low-budget drama, helmed by Spaniard Isabel Coixet, intelligently translates Roth's meditation on lust and mortality without soft-pedaling its narrator's brutally honest, unabashedly sexist views.
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 18, 2008
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 13, 2008
A seemingly forced ending, keep Elegy from being more than a character vehicle for one of our greatest actors and an opportunity for some creative dialogue on the pitfalls of romance.
October 1, 2008
Finally, a film for grown ups.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 20, 2008
I could never warm up to any of the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 18, 2008
This is Kingsley's show from start to finish, as he wraps himself in Kepesh's mantle of singularity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 5, 2008
Coixet's gentle hand and Kingsley's elegant voice give the movie a stately equilibrium.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 4, 2008
What helps the film stand out is the less than melodramatic approach of director Isabel Coixet and the complex performances of Kingsley and Cruz.
Page 1 of 6