Happy-Go-Lucky - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Happy-Go-Lucky Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Sarah Silver
Stop Smiling
June 14, 2016
Once we relax enough to be carried along with the overlapping waves of jokes and remarks, the occasional quip pierces through the tornado of words and strikes a funny bone, sometimes before we realize why we are laughing.
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 15, 2011
You just want to protect her, from the world, from everything, but really she's much stronger than you are.
June 12, 2010
If you leave the theater feeling uplifted (and unless your heart is made of cold gray concrete, you will), it wasn't due to manipulation, but a result of the film having honestly earned it.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
Leigh's most visually beautiful picture since Topsy-Turvy, Happy-Go-Lucky is all about the clashing and connecting of such emotional biospheres.
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
April 18, 2009
While Sally Hawkins turns out an award-worthy performance as Poppy, I quickly became bored with her life and all the turmoil surrounding it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
March 23, 2009
Few actors could have pulled off this role successfully, as it requires great energy, charisma and depth to make Poppy credible and so much more than first impressions.
| Original Score: 78/100
Brandon Fibbs
BrandonFibbs.com
March 19, 2009
Sally Hawkins is a comic revelation, an impish, endlessly charming sprite...
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze
March 13, 2009
England's addlepated answer to Amelie!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Wesley Lovell
Cinema Sight
March 1, 2009
Fresh, spunky and well acted. Sally Hawkins is enchanting and the rest of the cast is enjoyable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Orange County and Long Beach Blade
February 27, 2009
An unusually cheery movie from veteran British writer-director Mike Leigh; one of the ten best films of 2008
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Tony Macklin
tonymacklin.net
February 16, 2009
Happy-Go-Lucky is flibbertigibbet cinema. Mike Leigh directed Sally Hawkins in this paean to a peahen. Mike Leigh, let me introduce you to Fran Drescher, Kathy Griffin, and Nancy Grace. They're your kind of women.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Bill Gibron
PopMatters
January 30, 2009
Like anyone given over to giggling more than griping, Poppy - and as an indirect result, Happy-Go-Lucky - slowly becomes addictive.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
January 25, 2009
Initially, the new Mike Leigh film, "Happy-Go-Lucky," is so overbearing, it's a turn-off. But b the end of it, you might be calling it "Up with Poppy."
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Josh Larsen
LarsenOnFilm
January 13, 2009
I found Poppy to be annoying, bordering on the delusional, but of course I'm a big old crab.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
January 13, 2009
Stop the presses! A favorable portrayal of a happy person in a movie!
Full Review | Original Score: B
Gregory Weinkauf
▄berCinÚ
January 12, 2009
A cute but shallow and generally sloppy enterprise.
Luke Y. Thompson
E! Online
January 9, 2009
The inexplicably overrated, overbearing and overly improvised tale of peppy Poppy
| Original Score: D+
David N. Butterworth
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 8, 2009
The scenes between Poppy (Sally Hawkins) and driving-instructor Scott (Eddie Marsan) have real bite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Todd Gilchrist
H Magazine
January 8, 2009
Happy-Go-Lucky isn't just a film that demonstrates the goodness of humankind, but makes you believe in it as well.
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
December 31, 2008
Almost like viewing a nature documentary. I could imagine David Attenborough's voice: 'See here this woman whose way of positively viewing life can grate on those around her.'
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 1 of 8