On the Doll - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

On the Doll Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Super Reviewer
½ August 16, 2016
Almost switched it off, but glad I persevered. There are a few too many characters to keep track of, but once you've got it it is not so hard to follow. Most of the characters are damaged teens working either as hookers or strippers and it brushes lightly over the circumstances of their lives which drew them to that line of work. Pretty sad viewing, quite honestly.
I felt sorry for all of them. Particularly the girl whose boyfriend was hooking her to buy stuff and the one who was being held to ransom.
½ June 9, 2016
What can I say ? Weird ! I'm not sure if I liked it or not...
Que puis-je en dire? Bizarre ?! Je n'ai pas encore décidé si je l'ai aimé ou non...
½ February 9, 2015
Okay, I feel bad saying this, but for a film that wanted to be as shocking as I felt that this one did, it never got gritty or sleazy enough for my tastes if I'm being perfectly honest, and I absolutely despise actresses playing strippers/hookers and refusing to show any skin - it's just not a realistic portrayal in my book.

Pass, unless you're just a huge fan of any of the talent involved, and even then it may not be worth your time.
November 29, 2013
Four divergent tales are melded into one bloody ending. The tales all involve acts related to the sex industry. A man in love with a peep show performer. A prostitute with a plan to steal from a john. An escort whose only rule is no penetration. A school teacher who recruits students for the porn industry. This tale is chock full of sexual abuse, perverts, masturbation, drugs and rape. Oddly enough, there is no nudity. An indie effort given a higher rating than it deserves because I enjoyed Brittany Snow's performance very much and a decent job of pulling these unrelated stories together..
November 28, 2013
This story was dark, but it had a perfect ending.
July 29, 2013
Who knew that watching this random movie would end being a pleasant experience. Don't get me wrong, it's twisted in so many ways but the way it unravels to that crazy ending was enough to put this into the "like" category.
½ April 21, 2013
Twisted...very twisted movie. Props for creating a constant weird vibe throughout the whole movie.
October 11, 2012
damn, it wasn't what i expected
½ January 15, 2012
This movie wasn't good, but it wasn't horrible either. I only watched it because my signficant other has an obsession with Brittnay Snow. At this point I think it is almost impossible for her to pull off this type of role.
January 11, 2012
So when I first popped this movie into my Dvd player I was like... Holy crap did I just rent an R rated porno? And then it took some insane twist where there wasnt really any sex and there was no nudity and I was like what just happend? Okay so your probably like wtf is he talking about? So ill explain so at the beginning of the movie it's a scene where two girls are sitting infront of a school talking about sex and then there teacher is sitting there watching them and jacking off in his car. Then they both spread there legs so he can get off faster and also the whole movie kind of revolves around the porn/erotic industry. But it never shows them actually doing there profession. So in other words the whole movie in the beginning is filled with a lot of talk about sex and then people who are in that industry in one way or another. But really the story line is so much deeper because one of the things the movie is about is a good guy (and by that I mean a guy who has all these girls who want to have sex with him and doesnt and also he's always thinking of another person.) who is sending money to some mob dude (I think) so he can get a really close friend of his out of the buisness and she's really sick. Another is a guy and a girl who are in love and want to get married and the guy is in debt and is into his band and needs money so he can get his big break and buy the equipment he needs and the girl does roleplaying in a kinky way without actually getting naked for customers so she can help her boyfriend/fiance out. Then there is a pole girl who wants to screw over a dick of a customer because he treats her like trash and pays okay even though he has a lot of money with him everytime he does it. So she desides to rob him and then this ties into the nice guy. Then there are the two high school girls and the teacher and the girls are just kind of doing some harmless flirting but then it turns into something else and they get close to getting into an industry they dont want to get involved in. By the end of this movie all of the characters collide into each other for a good ending. Throughout the movie it also gives you backrounds on each character and kinda how they got into the predicament they are in. So pretty much the story line of this movie is awesome. It also has really great acting like seriously it's really good. Then the cinematography was awesome and the way they made things looks made it really realistic. The more I think about it the better the movie actually was.
½ August 20, 2010
Seriously, I couldn't keep my eyes on the screen for 3 minutes in a row. I just started looking for something else to do & let the movie player goes as it is. Apparently, the director seems trying his very hard trying to impress his audiences with something big. He fails, however. None of the plotlines interwoven in the story is interesting enough actually; in addition to the fragmented, boring narrative.
½ August 2, 2010
Total waist of time!! So F**-up!
January 24, 2010
An unfortunately bad low-budget indie that probably had a lot to say, but resorted to a guts-and-gore hyperlink-style conclusion and featured relatively terrible performances. Eddie Jemison (who you may remember as the fuck-up from all of the Ocean's film and many other Soderbergh features) is the most memorable here as a pederast health teacher who ends up getting way more punishment he deserved. Essentially, the film follows three groups of characters as they persue their daily activities in the underground sex industry of an unnamed city, until they all meet brutal ends in a gratuitous 'characters clash' finale. Then, the few lessons learned in the film are negated with an unnecessary epilogue. It had a few lines of dialogue that were poignant in terms of sexual abuse, but the overall suckiness of the film kind of took over.
November 15, 2009
14-11-09
"This is no play date."
August 31, 2009
unexpectedly good independed project.
½ June 14, 2009
Disturbing, with some twists. Better than I expected. I just wish Brittany Snow was a slightly better actress in this.
June 9, 2009
um well I watched it! not sure what that says about me but well i watched it!
June 2, 2009
It's different to say the least. It's strange how they keep doing cut aways of dead things though, even that was a little strange for me.
April 14, 2009
weird, but nothing really there.
Page 1 of 4