My Winnipeg - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My Winnipeg Reviews

November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
October 18, 2008
Guy Maddin docu about his hometown gives fans everything they'd expect, plus a few moments of unexpected sincerity.
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 25, 2008
The best way to take My Winnipeg is with a box of popcorn and a grain of salt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 11, 2008
This is a secret history, and it's a wonder.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 3, 2008
An affecting, dreamy, Chris Marker-esque, ciné-essay.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/6
June 29, 2008
My Winnipeg is a mobile collage, and its assemblage is fascinating.
June 27, 2008
The world would be a better place if every city had its Maddin.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 27, 2008
In the narration Maddin claims that Winnipeg has ten times as many sleepwalkers as any other city in the world, and though he's surely making this up, it conveys his own sense of entrapment amid the town's dreaminess.
June 27, 2008
If you love movies in the very sinews of your imagination, you should experience the work of Guy Maddin.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 26, 2008
An unhinged, utterly delightful 'documentary'.
June 26, 2008
For the uninitiated, I heartily recommend this free-associative, autobiographical gem.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 26, 2008
Much of what Maddin asserts as truth is balderdash. He was not, for example, born in the locker room of the local hockey team's arena.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 26, 2008
Weird, fascinating and uproarious, My Winnipeg takes place not in chilly Manitoba but in the dreamscape of Canadian filmmaker Guy Maddin's overheated imagination.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 20, 2008
The film, shot in black and white, like most of Maddin's creations, is a treat for fans and a migraine for the uninitiated or terminally dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
June 20, 2008
This haunting phantasmagoria of a film -- comic, singular, surreal -- is not only something no one but the Canadian director could have made, it's also a film no one else would have even wanted to make. Which is the heart of its appeal.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 20, 2008
This autobiographical meditation is seductively funny, as well as deliciously strange, and hauntingly beautiful, as well as stream-of-consciousness cockeyed.
June 20, 2008
My Winnipeg is like no documentary you've ever seen.
Top Critic
June 19, 2008
Restaging his youth but making his own detours, Maddin transforms Winnipeg into a city of mystery.
June 13, 2008
An entrancing riffle through the olde curiosity shoppe of the filmmaker's psyche.
Full Review | Original Score: A
June 13, 2008
My Winnipeg, which combines archival documentary images with freshly shot passages, is more concerned with lyrical truth than with literal accuracy.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 13, 2008
Guy Maddin's films are always delightful, but his latest, My Winnipeg, has an added treat for film buffs: It features Ann Savage!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 13, 2008
You're unlikely to find an easier entry into Maddin's wild world than this black-and-white 'docu-fantasia', a dryly funny, cheerfully false autobiography.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 13, 2008
A movie that is as happily warped and enthusiastically disturbed as the rest of [director Guy] Maddin's eccentric cinema.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
June 12, 2008
In the bizarre and singularly delightful My Winnipeg, [director Guy] Maddin offers a docu-history of his hometown, entangled with memories of his childhood.
Read More | Original Score: A-
June 11, 2008
My Winnipeg is Maddin's best filmmaking since the not-dissimilar confessional bargain-basement phantasmagoria, Cowards Bend the Knee. The editing is dense; the action is fluid.
June 9, 2008
My Winnipeg is overloaded and digressive -- it comes with the territory -- but it's also grounded in a place, Maddin's Manitoban hometown, and it's painfully engrossing.
May 5, 2008
This tongue-in-cheek "docu-fantasia" about the hold his snowbound Manitoba hometown has over him is weird, winning and hilarious.
April 26, 2008
Ingeniously madcap and heartfelt... more than just a whimsical curiosity, My Winnipeg takes an extraordinary leap forward...
September 10, 2007
Deep, rich sound accompanies distressed, often unfocused black-and-white shots of nighttime winter streets, garishly lit interiors and archival footage. Splashes of color in cut-out animation segs add to the texture.
September 8, 2007
Holding its hallucinatory blend of archival footage, animation and skewed recreations of scenes from Maddin's childhood together is the director's inspired, entertaining narration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4