Crashing - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Crashing Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ April 27, 2016
I went into this one hoping to like it as much as something like Roger Dodger, which also starred Campbell Scott, but what we ultimately get is an okay character study of two roommates who let a writer struggling with writer's block stay with hem in exchange for tutoring and occasional sex, as things turn out.

It's an okay watch, but more often than not feels like large chunks of it are just writer's exercises instead of anything happening with our characters.

Rental.
½ December 11, 2012
I skipped through the chapters of this movie. It was slow and ridiculous, but for some reason I wanted to know how it ended. Even the ending was disappointing - what a waste of time.
March 18, 2012
Thought provoking. I loved getting into the head of a writer!
½ March 10, 2011
What a waste of Izabella and Lizzy
February 13, 2011
A great movie. Very smart.
February 3, 2011
Polish Beauty Izabella Miko's sexual charms are as effective as ever.
January 13, 2011
I almost thought I was going to love this movie. Oddly enough its about a fictional author. The claim to fame of the author in this movie is that he wrote the book that was made into another movie (also written by the writer/director of this movie). Perfect sense so far, right? He is having trouble writing his follow-up and then he gets kicked out of house. He speaks at college writing class and two girls invite him to stay with them and help them with their writing - wackyness ensues... He narrates his new book and there are short stories by the girls acted out - thats the stuff I really liked.... everything else just kind of dragged and the production values are shite. Oh, and I love you Lizzy Caplan - please be in every movie ever - thx
Shrewlord
Super Reviewer
½ January 5, 2011
Totally up-itself, self indulgence as it pats itself on the back from beginning to end. Decent performances save it from being bad but, alas, not from being boring. Izabella Miko stands out as usual.
August 8, 2010
this movie sucked but the women were great
½ April 20, 2010
The plot sounded like a good idea, and I am not sure what happened, but this movie is slow and way too often it?s boring. It tends to be too talky and not enough happens. There?s nothing wrong with the performances, the actors just didn?t have much to work with. It?s a shorter than average movie at 80 minutes, but it sure seemed a lot longer.
½ April 20, 2010
52/100. In RT twice, so added review to both. The plot sounded like a good idea, and I am not sure what happened, but this movie is slow and way too often it's boring. It tends to be too talky and not enough happens. There's nothing wrong with the performances, the actors just didn't have much to work with. It's a shorter than average movie at 80 minutes, but it sure seemed a lot longer.
April 7, 2010
Wouldn't say it's rivetting, but it is an interesting take on a confused writer trying to overcome a block in his creative flow. There can always be another outcome!
January 13, 2010
Post-modern musing. Fiction within fiction, kind of like an updated French Lieutenants Woman. Reminds me a little of the verbal sparring in Tom Stoppard's Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, hence the post-modern label. What if your life were a novel you could create and erase and revise as you chose to - or do you do that already, in your imagination? See what that looks like in a real life setting, played out. How far do you let your imagination play out in your real life, and what is the responsibility of a writer to the people he draws inspiration and material from? Should everyone look at a character based on themselves objectively? Or is it just semantics sugar-coating an attitude toward life that condones using people casually for "work"? Might make you ask the question, is fiction reality? Interesting like a crossword puzzle is - entertaining mental gymnastics, but stranger, and some tips about writing you probably didn't get in English 101. Incessantly flirting with life's seldom-considered, but perhaps always present, questions.
January 10, 2010
Decent flick. The acting was good and the script was very good. I liked the score as well.
½ December 12, 2009
One of those "inside the writer's head" movies. Sometimes that's an interesting place to be, sometimes not. Fairly high on the disbelief scale.
Super Reviewer
October 15, 2009
How the hell did this movie get made? It falls into the assumption that a middle-aged-lech fantasy is any less of a middle-aged-lech fantasy just because it's diluted and overanalyzed with writerly pretension. I did like Lizzy Caplan of Mean Girls though. She's quite the chameleon.
½ October 12, 2009
I liked the plot idea. The potential was there.
September 1, 2009
Yet another zero star flick. Movies like this should never be made. The story focuses on a middle aged writer who uses his profession to score with two college broads. It's basically a porno without much sex and nudity. Just plain atrocious. When I say movies similar to this should never be made I am referring to this fact: As a producer, director, writer, or actor you should study the material closely and ask yourself two questions. A: Will this movie appeal to a mass audience and be a commercial success? B: Will this movie appeal to the top critics and be a critical sucess? If the answer to those questions is no then NEVER greenlight the movie. The answer is a resounding no to this pile of dreck.
Page 1 of 2