Fantastic Mr. Fox - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fantastic Mr. Fox Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
November 24, 2009
If only Mr. Fox were a more interesting character! Then, I think, the story's resolution would be more than merely quaint.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Edward Douglas
November 10, 2009
Anderson's first foray into animation is far from fantastic ... his attempt to stay true to his gut while maintaining the integrity of Dahl's storytelling is a losing battle.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
Kam Williams
November 29, 2009
A creepy cartoon filled with inappropriate inside jokes that are mostly over the head of the desired tyke demographic, exactly what one would you expect of a claymation vehicle crafted by the cerebral Wes Anderson.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Matthew Sorrento
Film Threat
November 24, 2009
Critics galore are fawning over Anderson's move to animation. Why all the fuss? - the man's been staging puppet shows for years.
| Original Score: 1/5
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
February 1, 2010
A visual flair can't rescue an awkardly edited, talky film with little accessible wit--hard to imagine even the most patient child or their parents not being bored stiff.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Chris Tilly
IGN Movies UK
October 23, 2009
Dahl aficionados will be disappointed at the Americanisation of it all, while Anderson fans will doubtless grow tired of the predictable nature of proceedings.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5
Erik Childress
November 25, 2009
Wishing it was Chicken Run and never achieving the depth of Where The Wild Things Are, Anderson and Baumbach create a half-fun, half-humdrum affair that I'm sure they will enjoy watching over and over.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jackie K. Cooper
December 1, 2009
Another clunker from Clooney aided and abetted by Wes Anderson
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Daniel M. Kimmel
New England Movies Weekly
November 28, 2009
[Another one of] the vacuous, pretentious and annoying films of Wes Anderson.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 23, 2009
Honestly, this really isn't some kind of Transatlantic stand-off on our part. But how much longer are we expected to stand impotently by while Hollywood arrogantly Americanises our every British children's icon?
Dustin Putman
November 12, 2009
A defibrillator could have only helped.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
November 12, 2009
Anderson is so afraid of mussing a hair, he keeps his stories simple and hermetically sealed off from the sloppy business of emotions.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Ryan Gilbey
New Statesman
March 11, 2014
If Fantastic Mr Fox feels like Anderson's freshest film since Rushmore, that can only be due to the animation. Beneath those tactile textures, there's nothing you could strictly call fantastic.
Jason Best
Movie Talk
August 2, 2012
Anderson wants to turn his fox family into another version of the dysfunctional families that regularly pop up in his work. And this is where his adaptation really rubs against the grain of the original.
Christopher Tookey
Daily Mail (UK)
October 23, 2009
Whereas Dahl kept his foxes and other animals relatively true to their wild selves, Anderson humanises and Americanises without bothering to establish a coherent set of rules for his far too self-consciously quirky universe.
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
November 12, 2009
Sure, Anderson's making a statement about the human animal, but he proves no Aesop and Fantastic Mr. Fox is, alas, no Animal Farm.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Peter Keough
Boston Phoenix
November 25, 2009
Count me among the few not captivated by Anderson's animated adaptation of Roald Dahl's book; I found it as stilted and twee as the title canid's tippy-toe gait.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jody Seaborn
Austin American-Statesman
March 11, 2014
It's the perfect animation format for Wes Anderson and makes permeable Anderson's frequently airtight outlook.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Sarah Silver
Stop Smiling
March 2, 2014
There are legions who will be as tickled by this movie as Wes Anderson himself, who must be in awe of how close this meticulously constructed fantasy comes to the original vision in his head.
Will Leitch
June 22, 2013
t's entertaining and tolerable in a way that I fear isn't ultimately good for Anderson, but works here.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 12