Disfigured - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Disfigured Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 8, 2014
I think the most important message was told in the first 10 minutes of this story, then it just kept beating that message to death.
September 17, 2011
Don't really know what to think about this. Was definitely more of an emotional journey than a plot-driven film. The best scenes were when the two women realized they were both put through the the same crap about their appearances - that people feel they can walk up to them and comment on their lifestyle/appearance like it's their business.

Happy that this is not one of my battles. But we are all unhappy with ourselves in some way. The new group generally about Self-Esteem at the end was definitely what was needed.
½ July 22, 2011
It's well written, but only Staci Lawrence was great in it. I thought Deidra is an awful actress. (and what's up with the Biggest Loser guy, he's an actor now?) Felt a bit like documentary, which made it great really.
½ June 15, 2011
Great premise and great plot that shows that although the bodies of an anorexic and a compulsive over eater may be vastly different, the core issues are still the same. The movie is shot well and has a great indie feel, but unfortunately there are just some moments where there is some serious overacting going on.
February 17, 2011
while only hinting at the pain behind the anorexic perspective, it still made me bawl like a baby. i think it's a unique idea, but shows how difficult it is to strongly portray the issues. for me it lacked any sort of exploration behind the apparent issues behind both of the women's disorders. it's only because of the well done acting and my intense identification with these issues that caused my emotions to splurt
½ April 15, 2010
"Disfigured" was written and directed by Glenn Gers and stars Deidra Edwards and Staci Lawrence. Deidra Edwards is Lydia dealing with being fat and Staci Lawrence is Darcy dealing with anorexia and they form an unlikely friendship after Darcy tries to join a Fat Acceptance Group since she believes she is fat. This is a must-see movie for any woman (or man for that matter) who has had any issues with body image.

This is a shockingly amazing story coming from a male writer/director. Glenn Gers really captured these women as fully rounded characters in an intimate and real way. He gives equal focus to overweight and underweight people bringing the whole message back to body image and the fact that people need to be comfortable in their own skin before they can change or they will never be happy.

The script is very accurate to how women feel about body image and does an excellent job of giving both sides a lot of time and making sure both women get to know the other's problems more closely. Being overweight or underweight both have implications for affecting one's life health-wise, in relationships, at work, and especially how one feels when they are alone. Their friendship and discussions help both of them begin to move toward trying to be healthier people overall without worrying about body image. Anorexia very much is a dark, painful journey that Darcy does a great job explaining emotionally in her face and words, but appears more functional than a real person would be so the viewer has to understand that while she got the emotion dead-on, it really is a lot more painful to watch physically than she could demonstrate without living it. Lydia is actually a healthier person than Darcy though it might not look that way on the outside. She is emotionally stronger and more connected to others and has the capacity to love than Darcy has lost along with all other enthusiasm for life and food.

The movie does not leave the viewer with concrete solutions other than women apparently need to get together and talk about body image to learn to accept themselves before they can change themselves (anorexics seeking therapy, fat people committing to better health, etc). The major downfall of the movie is the low budget leading to lots of handheld shaky camera which is occasionally distracting and the lighting sometimes is so bright that it looks like an actress is standing against a white background when they are in a living room with furniture in it. The sound also gets a little hard to hear sometimes.

DVD Extras:

This DVD is packed full of extras. First off, there is director and cast commentary with Glenn Gers, Deidra Edwards, Staci Lawrence, and Ryan C. Benson which is very informative about background information and facts. There is a Behind-The-Scenes feature showing off Venice Beach starting off with the story of two overweight people wanting to walk and the story developing from that and online message boards drama. It was a challenging film to shoot on the beach with lots of unwanted background noise that had to be weeded out and it was a very hot, humid shoot with lots of "night" indoor shots being taken in the daytime with black plastic over windows making it hard on the actors. Unfortunately the interview taken with Staci Lawrence is apparently in a noisy night club or something because it is very difficult to hear her. This entire feature length film was shot in fifteen days!

There is a Fat Acceptance and Eating Disorders featurette explaining what actual fat acceptance movements are about and how he took it a bit farther to make an argument. Glenn Gers hosts this portion and recommends a book title "Rethinking Thin" as a good source of information and admonishes anyone from thinking anorexia is an attractive idea before jumping to an interview segment between some experts in the field to provide some of the psychology behind the ideas from the film. One group fights for civil rights of fat people and discusses the discrimination in the workplace and elsewhere. They emphasize the movie's message of education and communication for advancement in solving these problems. A "weight neutral" perspective is like a foreign language. Exploring anorexia, they brought forth some symptoms that weren't shown in the film that Darcy actually would have been experiencing like coldness, hiding one's body in bulky clothes, and a slowing down of metabolism and energy except during compulsive exercise. Darcy was a very functional anorexic in this movie and her body was shown a lot more for the viewer than actually affected people would have. The experts here vow that it is a disease one can recover from though it is widely believed that isn't the case. It is a very informative and helpful.

The outtakes and improvisations are very funny and the deleted scenes were very informative showing more symptoms for Darcy and more of both main characters' childhood history.
March 15, 2010
A plus-sized woman and an anorexic woman become friends and discuss how they view themselves, food, people around them. All women should view this and contemplate their own feelings on body image and how women are manipulated no matter what size they are!
January 23, 2010
This was a nice departure from the ordinary flick. I highly recommend it to anyone who has ever felt insecure about their weight.
October 30, 2009
Hi, This movie was some what interesting mostly of the overweight woman (Lydia is her name) who is kind of a lonely lady who gets made fun of each time she does a walk by a guy who is homeless. She meets Darcy who wanted to join a meeting of Fat Acceptance Group despite she not fat one bit but she stands up to the president of the group to vote her in and got shot down quickly. Later in a movie after Darcy got kick out of the group she runs into Lydia and thank her for standing up for her and they sort of started a friendship that way. Lydia sort of have a fling with a guy Bob who join her with her walking group who didn't want to get serious with her at all. Later in the movie Darcy and Lydia friendship sort of put to a test. All in all it was a interesting movie of the likely friendship between two people who are opposited in looks but both feels fat on the inside.
October 14, 2009
A strange but compelling film that presents issues that rarely grace the big screen. Great character development and wonderful acting. Definitely a great indie movie.
½ August 30, 2009
the realities of eating disorders two women come together from very diff. weight issues and realize that they have more in common than they think all women should watch this no matter what the size.
July 24, 2009
I stayed up all night watching this one, I highly recommend it. :)
½ June 27, 2009
This was a really powerful flick, I highly recommend it.
May 23, 2009
Every woman with any kind of body image/weight issue needs to see this movie. It's a commentary on weight and body image in our society, but it's also a story of intimacy and friendship. It's told with sensitivity and realism. It was shot in 15 days with two hand-held video cameras. The actors are all relative unknowns, but they are brilliant at what they do. What a remarkable little film. One I won't soon forget. A favorite of the year so far.
½ April 26, 2009
Well worth seeing even if the execution is a little choppy, because the issues explored here really attain some excellent depth.
December 22, 2008
This is one of the most realistic, no nonsense films I have ever seen. It truly brought to life issues I have never really thought of or knew existed. To think that food keeps us alive and yet it could be or worst enemy. Or that our bodies do so much for us and yet we could hate it so much is appalling. I absolutely loved this film and wish everyone in the world would see it. Brilliant.
December 20, 2008
For any woman who's at all insecure about herself. It's an indy flick and it's really good. Most surprisingly, it was written and directed by a man! lol!
½ December 19, 2008
Mycket bra koncept där anorektisk kvinna vill ansluta sig till en "problemmedviktengrupp" där dock acceptans av sin vikt gäller dock så är budskapet i gruppen att acceptera övervikt. Intressanta perspektiv med en ansats att visa på likheter i problematiken kring ??...
½ November 8, 2008
A portrait of inquiry into self and other social judgments, this amazing and confrontational work was painfully well-done on all fronts.
November 7, 2008
Super interesting film, shot somewhat like a doc...starts with an anorexic woman trying to join a fat acceptance support group - why? because she thinks she's fat...makes sense right?!? The only woman in the group who does not immedietly tear her to shreds is Lydia and they soon become friends, based on the similarities of body issues and being women. God damn is this world fucked up.
Page 1 of 2