I Love You Beth Cooper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Love You Beth Cooper Reviews

Page 1 of 6
July 9, 2009
A miscast and misjudged graduation-night comedy, Cooper occasionally -- only occasionally -- wanders into 'harmless.'
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 9, 2009
The writer of I Love You, Beth Cooper says the story is based on a dream. I believe him. This is one of the very few movies where I wanted the hero to wake up and discover it was only a dream.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 10, 2009
The filmmakers lacked the courage and conviction to tell an honest, character-based story and resorted to something that has been massaged into a more comfortable, easily consumable cinematic morsel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 10, 2009
Like the high school's bison mascot, this romp is lean on fresh laughs.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 9, 2009
Takes the tiredest and most predictable elements,wrings out any authentic or appealing detail, and then drags out every single set-piece to the agonizing breaking point.
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: D
July 10, 2009
As one-crazy-night teen comedies go, it won't be mentioned in the same breath as Superbad, Dazed and Confused, Sixteen Candles or American Graffiti. Or even Can't Hardly Wait.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 9, 2009
I Love You, Beth Cooper provides so few laughs I nearly wandered out of the theater midway to go look for some somewhere.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
March 4, 2011
It so desperately wants to be an '80s high-school romp, yet comes across as a film made by people who have never even seen one.
July 10, 2009
Flip-flopping between flailing farce and dull drama is just one of the reasons that I Love You, Beth Cooper's graduation day comedy flunks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 10, 2009
This movie, like the title character, is a tease that offers nothing new and original.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 10, 2009
Clearly a new low for the genre as well as a career low for Columbus.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
August 21, 2009
I hate you, I Love You, Beth Cooper. I hate you because you couldn't be any more half-hearted if you'd just had half your heart chopped out in a half-heart-ectomy by a surgeon who couldn't really be bothered doing it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 21, 2009
A joyless, misjudged and witless comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 13, 2009
The story quickly -- and I mean quickly -- devolves into an unimaginative high school retread.
July 13, 2009
This is dreadful. This is a pathetic excuse for a movie.
July 8, 2009
I've got no sympathy for Panettiere, who dives into her first star vehicle with minimal charm or effort.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
July 9, 2009
Wants to emulate a John Hughes film, in much the same way that a crack whore wearing a dime-store tiara wants to emulate Queen Elizabeth.
Full Review | Original Score: F
July 12, 2009
This is the worst version of Can't Hardly Wait imaginable. Denis shouldn't hang out with Beth. Beth shouldn't give Denis the time of day.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
August 24, 2009
We've seen it a million times before, and better. The situations are forced, the script is weak, the pace drags and, frankly, it just isn't funny enough.
| Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 6