I Love You Beth Cooper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Love You Beth Cooper Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
July 9, 2009
A miscast and misjudged graduation-night comedy, Cooper occasionally -- only occasionally -- wanders into 'harmless.'
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 9, 2009
The writer of I Love You, Beth Cooper says the story is based on a dream. I believe him. This is one of the very few movies where I wanted the hero to wake up and discover it was only a dream.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
July 10, 2009
The filmmakers lacked the courage and conviction to tell an honest, character-based story and resorted to something that has been massaged into a more comfortable, easily consumable cinematic morsel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
July 10, 2009
Like the high school's bison mascot, this romp is lean on fresh laughs.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Nell Minow
Beliefnet
July 9, 2009
Takes the tiredest and most predictable elements,wrings out any authentic or appealing detail, and then drags out every single set-piece to the agonizing breaking point.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: D
July 10, 2009
As one-crazy-night teen comedies go, it won't be mentioned in the same breath as Superbad, Dazed and Confused, Sixteen Candles or American Graffiti. Or even Can't Hardly Wait.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
July 9, 2009
I Love You, Beth Cooper provides so few laughs I nearly wandered out of the theater midway to go look for some somewhere.
| Original Score: 1/4
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au
March 4, 2011
It so desperately wants to be an '80s high-school romp, yet comes across as a film made by people who have never even seen one.
James Rocchi
Redbox
July 10, 2009
Flip-flopping between flailing farce and dull drama is just one of the reasons that I Love You, Beth Cooper's graduation day comedy flunks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Keith Cohen
Entertainment Spectrum
July 10, 2009
This movie, like the title character, is a tease that offers nothing new and original.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
July 10, 2009
Clearly a new low for the genre as well as a career low for Columbus.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Robbie Collin
News of the World
August 21, 2009
I hate you, I Love You, Beth Cooper. I hate you because you couldn't be any more half-hearted if you'd just had half your heart chopped out in a half-heart-ectomy by a surgeon who couldn't really be bothered doing it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Grant Lauchlan
Daily Record (UK)
August 21, 2009
A joyless, misjudged and witless comedy.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
July 13, 2009
The story quickly -- and I mean quickly -- devolves into an unimaginative high school retread.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
July 13, 2009
This is dreadful. This is a pathetic excuse for a movie.
Katey Rich
CinemaBlend.com
July 8, 2009
I've got no sympathy for Panettiere, who dives into her first star vehicle with minimal charm or effort.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Eric D. Snider
Film.com
July 9, 2009
Wants to emulate a John Hughes film, in much the same way that a crack whore wearing a dime-store tiara wants to emulate Queen Elizabeth.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
July 12, 2009
This is the worst version of Can't Hardly Wait imaginable. Denis shouldn't hang out with Beth. Beth shouldn't give Denis the time of day.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Rosamund Witcher
Heat Magazine
August 24, 2009
We've seen it a million times before, and better. The situations are forced, the script is weak, the pace drags and, frankly, it just isn't funny enough.
| Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 6