I Love You Beth Cooper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Love You Beth Cooper Reviews

August 21, 2009
There's the potential for 'Superbad'-style comedy when Denis and his pal go on the run with Beth and friends, but the pace is slow and lines fall flat thanks to long pauses and hammy delivery.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 13, 2009
The story quickly -- and I mean quickly -- devolves into an unimaginative high school retread.
July 13, 2009
This is dreadful. This is a pathetic excuse for a movie.
July 10, 2009
The script by Larry Doyle, based on his novel, has some smart flashes, and a few of the young performers resemble real people and not the usual prefab teen idols.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 10, 2009
This unfunny, unoriginal, charmless teen comedy is so stunningly awful from start to finish, it's amazing to think its director has made a single film before, much less a dozen.
July 10, 2009
A flat, tired rehash of teen movie story tropes, the film attempts to have it both ways by winkingly acknowledging its secondhand origins.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 10, 2009
As pleasurable as revisiting the glossy, witty, misadventure-filled realm Hughes created for his adolescent characters is, you've also been here before. Often.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 10, 2009
One high school graduation party that you won't want to attend.
July 10, 2009
[Columbus'] new film feels curiously outdated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 10, 2009
Makes for a lively and refreshing glimpse into how the other half lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 10, 2009
A sweet effort that touches all the bases that have been touched so many times before.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 10, 2009
Like the high school's bison mascot, this romp is lean on fresh laughs.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 10, 2009
With roles that seem tailor-made for Michael Cera and Jonah Hill, this nerd wish-fulfillment comedy reminded me of Superbad, though a more accurate title might be Sub-Bad.
July 10, 2009
The charmlessness of its central characters -- Rust's charisma-challenged Denis, Panettiere's Barbie-hard and vacuous Beth -- makes this putative farce all the more difficult to endure.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 10, 2009
The filmmakers lacked the courage and conviction to tell an honest, character-based story and resorted to something that has been massaged into a more comfortable, easily consumable cinematic morsel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 10, 2009
Aiming for the heartfelt hilarity of Superbad, I Love You, Beth Cooper is just super bad.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
July 10, 2009
I Love You, Beth Cooper moves along, taking two steps backward into crassness for every clever or just plain sweet moment it offers.
July 10, 2009
Beth Cooper isn't a terrible addition to the teen coming-of-age party movie catalog. It just feels dated.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 10, 2009
Adapted by Larry Doyle from his 2007 novel, I Love You, Beth Cooper peaks early -- like, during the first three minutes -- and rapidly goes downhill from there.
July 10, 2009
With its painfully awkward shifts between pat sentimentality, hackneyed teen-movie tropes and parent-baiting raunchiness, there's little to love about I Love You, Beth Cooper.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 10, 2009
A disappointingly flabby teen flick that reaches for (and spectacularly fails to grasp) both the effective sincerity of a John Hughes film and the irresistible humor of Superbad.
July 10, 2009
If fun is what you're looking for, you might want to avoid I Love You, Beth Cooper, a drab and incoherent teen comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
July 10, 2009
The mood doesn't build on itself, the emotional moments barely register and you start to hope the sun will rise soon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 9, 2009
Wants to emulate a John Hughes film, in much the same way that a crack whore wearing a dime-store tiara wants to emulate Queen Elizabeth.
Full Review | Original Score: F
July 9, 2009
The characters lack charm and dimension, falling into stereotypical molds. Joyless scenarios bounce between scenes of driving around town and predictable party mayhem.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 9, 2009
Panettiere, I'm sad to report, is a dud as the title character, a supposed wild thang who never rises above the level of runty, obnoxious mall chick, down to the roll-on tan.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 9, 2009
I Love You, Beth Cooper provides so few laughs I nearly wandered out of the theater midway to go look for some somewhere.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
July 9, 2009
The story is timeless; this could have taken place when [screenwriter] Doyle graduated in '76 -- or any year, really, since the effects of high school linger throughout adult life and nerds are forever.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 9, 2009
If watching this makes you long to be young again, you probably grew up in an Algerian prison.
Full Review | Original Score: D
July 9, 2009
I Love You, Beth Cooper tries to exploit and explode broad stereotypes, but it never transcends the labels it applies.
Full Review | Original Score: D
July 9, 2009
A miscast and misjudged graduation-night comedy, Cooper occasionally -- only occasionally -- wanders into 'harmless.'
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 9, 2009
The writer of I Love You, Beth Cooper says the story is based on a dream. I believe him. This is one of the very few movies where I wanted the hero to wake up and discover it was only a dream.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 9, 2009
Suffering through I Love You, Beth Cooper is like being locked in detention with five idiots misquoting The Breakfast Club.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
July 8, 2009
This nightmare scenario is to high-school valedictorians what this wreck of a movie is to comedy screenwriters.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/6
July 8, 2009
Every time the story shows some glimmer of originality, it immediately retreats back to formula.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 8, 2009
[A] joyless, offensively stupid end-of-high-school farce.