Me and Orson Welles - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Me and Orson Welles Reviews

Page 1 of 8
September 24, 2014
This deceptively modest movie is smartly not a curated compilation of Wellesiana, but rather a warmly observed look at the theater and those souls who live for the arts.
August 1, 2012
The film's Welles is a mix of huckster and genius, thanks to an astonishing performance by little-known English actor Christian McKay, who captures his boundless self-confidence and energy. Director Richard Linklater gives his cast the chance to shine.
November 24, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
April 4, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 3, 2011
A smart and charming backstage theater film.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 25, 2010
Thanks to Linklater and McKay, we get a rendition of Welles that gives vital pulse to the man, the myth, the legend.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
August 8, 2010
Christian McKay delivers a stand out performance in two of the best escapist hours you'll experience this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 6, 2010
You're not going to have huge laughs or terrible sadness or excitement. It's a bittersweet love letter to thespians of old.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
August 5, 2010
Me and Orson Welles is a potentially wonderful film damaged by the presence of a lacklustre Zac Efron.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 30, 2010
McKay is magnificent [as Welles]. Not for a moment did I doubt that this was the man who went on to make Citizen Kane.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
July 30, 2010
The film is beautifully, factually detailed. There's much to love here.
July 29, 2010
The sheer dynamism of Welles in full flight -- an exasperating, yet awe-inspiring figure around the clock -- is brought to life with an incredible performance by unknown British actor Christian McKay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 29, 2010
Me and Orson Welles has plenty to offer fans, be they of theatre, old movies, or High School Musical. If you can tick at least one of these boxes then you're in for a good time.
July 29, 2010
Though you may see the end coming somewhere towards the beginning, this is a highly enjoyable film with an excellent support cast, witty and fast-paced script and brilliant performances.
July 29, 2010
Me and Orson Welles, whilst slight, should appeal to stage and screen buffs.
July 29, 2010
It's not as far from the small town '70s Texas of Dazed and Confused to backstage at the Mercury Theatre on opening night in 1937 as you might think.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 29, 2010
The legend which is Orson Welles and his passion for the theatre are beautifully portrayed in this breezy period drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 28, 2010
With its wonderful period details, strong performances and fascinating characters, Me and Orson Welles is an incredibly enjoyable film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 8