Obsessed - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Obsessed Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Gina Carbone
Seacoast Newspapers (NH/Maine)
April 26, 2009
Just when I want cheese, you give me caviar.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.75/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
April 27, 2009
Whoever thought remaking Fatal Attraction as a PG-13 thriller was a good idea earns much of the blame for this laughably arch dud.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Perri Nemiroff
CinemaBlend.com
August 14, 2010
Elba grimaces, Larter is seductive, and Beyonce says, 'You better do something about this woman, or I will.' That better be enough because that's all this one's got to offer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Pete Hammond
Hollywood.com
April 24, 2009
It's strictly a generic thriller, perhaps the 105th blatant rip-off of 'Fatal Attraction', but not without its own guilty pleasures.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Paul Chambers
CNNRadio
July 29, 2009
They did this movie a few years ago. It was called "The Temp". So many holes in the plot, I stopped counting. An unintentional laugh riot!
Full Review | Original Score: D
Scott Weinberg
Cinematical
April 26, 2009
Too "safe" to be a provocative thriller or an incendiary drama, and it's way too flat and sedate to qualify as a movie bad enough to mock.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
April 27, 2009
Until Beyonce and Ali Larter duke it out at the climax, this is one dull film.
Tim Grierson
Screen International
April 27, 2009
This Screen Gems film initially tries to confront issues of sexual inequality, but it isn't long before Obsessed's hand-wringing tone acquiesces to the material's sleazy absurdity, eliciting more laughs than drama.
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
May 1, 2009
Director Steven Shill and the doltish dialogue don't do much to diminish the film's overt homophobia and misogyny.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Mickey McMonagle
Sunday Mail [UK]
June 2, 2009
Not even the lovely Beyoncé Knowles can save this clichéd thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
April 24, 2009
If you know the title, you know everything you're going to learn about the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Greg Quill
Toronto Star
April 27, 2009
If the producers had done their work properly on Obsessed, I would not now be wishing I could reclaim the two hours I wasted on this tepid, sexless, thrill-free melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Grant Lauchlan
Daily Record (UK)
May 29, 2009
A watchable but instantly forgettable Fatal Attraction rip-off.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
May 4, 2009
Elba and Larter are actually pretty good. Beyonce, through, strikes one note throughout.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
May 4, 2009
A silly, contrived film.
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
May 1, 2009
Are people not aware of the Lifetime Movie Network, which shows films like this 24 hours a day for free?
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
April 27, 2009
More like Delayed Frustration than Fatal Attraction.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Kevin McCarthy
BDK Reviews
April 24, 2009
Obsessed is your typical stalker thriller but is horrifically written and terribly overacted. I am bitter I had to pay to see it since it did not screen to critics.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
April 24, 2009
A trashy, empty calorie thriller that plays with racial bugaboos and DTV slasher conventions for a cheap, conversation-with-the-screen response. Oh my, this picture is junk food, but worse, it's an absolute toothless bore.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
April 26, 2009
Bottle blonde sexpot in heat with boundary issues on McMansion home invasion spree, with alpha male power as the ultimate female aphrodisiac. All that's missing is the stained blue dress. I did not have sex with that woman, she had sex with me.
Page 1 of 5