The Night Buffalo (El Bufalo de la Noche) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Night Buffalo (El Bufalo de la Noche) Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 22, 2013
Interesting, the random nakedness makes up for slow story. lol
May 21, 2012
revenge is a dish best served dull... a revenge plot that travels all over the map before finding a place to land, the logic behind the revenge takes forever to be established and by the time it finally gets there you realize that there are no redeamable characters and that everything that happens to the people in this movie deserve everything that comes their way
May 9, 2012
As usual the novel was far superior
½ January 26, 2012
Slow and kind of boring. It fails to make me care.
½ November 18, 2010
Boring, waste of time...
½ August 17, 2010
Jumbled, inexplicable mess of a film. Is just about watching a series of dull-as-dishwater students being mildly nuts for a couple of hours. If there was a message somewhere in this film then graffiti might have been a better media to express it.
½ July 14, 2010
This movie could have been good I just couldn't understand the unnecessary sexual scenes. It was sort of like trying to compensate for a really really bad movie.
½ June 13, 2010
The book wasn't that good... but the movie sucks big time.
½ May 29, 2010
gratuitous on many counts, plotless, and really only saved by the effective use of omar rodriguez (the mars volta) doing the score... not the best use of an hour and a half of your time...
April 7, 2010
Es una buena adaptacion del el libro.
½ April 1, 2010
Not the greatest, not the worst. Full nudity and sex scenes make it a rather soft core porn type of movie than entirely indie. The entire storyline is actually mostly solely centred around the main character's sex life with his best friend's girl, and the schizophrenia plays a very small part. It was right along the same lines as Y Tu Mamá Tambien, from the same director. If you liked that, this one's ok.
March 15, 2010
I first heard about this movie because of the score being done by The guy from The Mars Volta. Then heard it was the screenwriter from Babel's first director's job. And Diego Luna's in it. It can't be that bad, right? Well, the thing I hated about Babel was the arbitrary cutting between stories. It might have been just fine as a collection. And my cousin once joked that any movie with Garcia Bernal in it means he will be naked. Well, I guess that might extend to Luna also and those two things should have been a warning to me.

This movie jumps between time and situations for no real good reason and at odd times. Plus, it has more nudity and sex scenes that some porn I'm sure of. It might even have had a real sex act if I was watching on something like a TV for me to verify. The bad thing is, the story is so bad and scattered that it takes away from the brilliant performances. The main 4 are great. Nothing else is.
January 26, 2010
Tried to be disturbing and mysterious. Ended up confusing and slow. "I've seen this before" feeling.
½ January 24, 2010
Really hard to follow since everyone is the same looking and it justs back between present time and past time. It really doesnt tell you anything ever. The quotes are really fasinating though.
½ January 20, 2010
Better than the "Burning Plain"(proving Arriaga was really the meat in the Innaruti sandwiches) and nice soundtrack from Omar Rodriguez, but it could have been better. Kind of Hitchcock like at times, but ultimately undeveloped. I am curious to read Arriaga's novel that this was based on now though.
January 13, 2010
it was ok... the only great thing about it has to be the soundtrack, done by Omar from the mars volta
December 28, 2009
Pretentious, senseless indie crap. Don't let the excitement of the NC-17 rating suck you in on late-night cable.
½ December 5, 2009
it has nice photograph/ captions. I liked it...
½ October 18, 2009
Par aum filme com a mão do Arriaga acho que poderia ser bem melhor explorado, a presença de algumas cenas não que não tem importancia matam o filme.
½ October 1, 2009
Pesima. No se la vea nadie. no pierdan su tiempo.
Page 1 of 6