The Way We Get By - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Way We Get By Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 19, 2009
A heartfelt, mildly fascinating documentary that lacks sufficient insight to keep you thoroughly intrigued and enlightened.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.9/10
July 15, 2009
Gaudet has a hard time extending his material to feature length.
September 25, 2009
It is straightforward work. Yet over time, it becomes clearly, steadfastly about the existential.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 17, 2009
Contains more useful, homespun philosophizing and genuine sentiment than a year's worth of narrative films. That it's so well made is a bonus.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 2, 2009
Both a moving testament to the elderly folks who meet the troops and an interesting look at the troops themselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 12, 2009
plucks every heartstring but never in a manipulative or maudlin way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 15, 2009
Though Aron Gaudet's documentary never quite captures the relieved atmosphere of these homecomings, it does acknowledge the dark side of a cheery platitude: those on both sides of the divide are in need of healing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 17, 2009
Aron Gaudet's film rages with quiet dignity against the dying of the light.
July 13, 2009
With empathetic reserve only sullied by occasional lapses into cross-cutting and musical italicizing, The Way We Get By equates the sadness of war and aging.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 17, 2009
Although it has affecting moments, the film can't quite decide whether it's about aging or about the effects of war on the home front, and its modest scale is more appropriate for TV than the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 19, 2009
I adored every frame of this movie and every person in it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 25, 2009
It's a beautiful, heartfelt movie about people overcoming their own difficulties to make a positive impact on the lives of others.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 13, 2009
An extraordinary documentary that celebrates the heroism and the spiritual practice of kindness in the lives of three elders who serve as troop greeters in Bangor, Maine.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 27, 2009
These remarkable individuals contribute to a story that is not just indescribably moving but is a timeless metaphor for our country.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 17, 2009
I can't recall when I last noticed such a lovely and distinct color palette used in a documentary...a poetic reflection on man facing his mortality.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 17, 2009
This is a nice documentary about nice people who are doing a nice thing.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 15, 2009
The earnest documentary is filled with many small moments that are heartfelt.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 27, 2009
Watching them issue hugs produces an involuntary response. You want to hug them, too.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 14, 2009
Bring your handkerchiefs.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 17, 2009
Unfailingly modest and profoundly humane.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 2