The Collector - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Collector Reviews

Page 2 of 150
½ December 28, 2014
It's unfortunate that this film will be consistently mislabeled as a torture porn. While it did come out around the same time as the saw films and the Hostel films, and it was written and directed by one of the writers of the saw franchise, This film is not driven by it's torture elements. Yes, the film has scenes of torture but it also has plot. Real plot. not a shallow transparent script that is used as an excuse to deliver gargantuan amounts of gore and needless over-the-top death scenes. This film isn't driven by it's special effects. The violence isn't what makes this film unsettling. This film makes people uneasy because of the thrilling plot points, action sequences and acting. The script is original, and I feel that the film is written off because it happens to be in close proximity (time wise) to a very cheap sub-genera. I loved this movie.
December 13, 2014
An inventive entertaining horror flick. It may carry on further with to tire porn, but it's effective with a good character and a interesting villain.
December 7, 2014
The Collector is such an underrated horror movie. I skipped out of work one day & went & seen this not knowing anything about it. Being the only person in the theater, I was pretty i was pretty freaked out. The level of suspense in this movie is unbearable. From the mastery of boobie traps, the creepy screechy sounf he makes, his shiny eyes, the gore, the darkness, & the fact of endangerment of children. Easily one of my favorite horror/thrillers. DO NOT sleep on this cat & mouse masterpiece. Well, goodluck sleeping at all afterwards. hehe.
December 6, 2014
Not putting too much expectation in the first place, but surprisingly amused with the gore and tense it brings to the audience. Though The Collector might not bring you as much or nearly none plot twists like Saw, the gore, the tense, everything else could be as enjoyable like Saw.
½ November 1, 2014
If you like the Saw movies I can recommend this, it surprised me and thought it was pretty good.
October 5, 2014
Sangre sangre y más sangre para al final no mostrar la cara del enmascarado. boooo.
Super Reviewer
½ September 15, 2014
I had never heard of this film before and so had no clue what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. It started off rather bland, with only Arkin's character being of any interest. When he arrives at the house, however, it is one intense ride. I was on the edge of my seat through most of it and I especially enjoyed the scenes of Arkin silently sneaking about. I loved that the 'villain' was also unaware of the 'hero' for the most part. The basement scenes were nice for gore, but I wasn't a fan of the stylistic choices. The slow motion shots of Arkin running up the stairs got very annoying as well. I was also impressed with the cat scene. I usually dislike those as I find them difficult to watch and annoyingly exploitative, but it was done really well. It was still hard to watch and made me cringe, but films rarely have that affect on me, so I count it as as good thing.

I was disappointed with the development of the Collector character, as well as the film opting for a seemingly taped on Hollywood ending for the last 25 minutes. They were still alright, but there were a number of paths it could've taken to avoid the usual horror film cliches and safe choices and it didn't (also leaving it open for a sequel, which I hate). The Collector character was creepy and mysterious to begin with, but then was shown a little too much and we're not given enough information about him. The 'collecting' seemed like a late addition and didn't really make sense. We're just told 'he collects people' and that's it. It never develops that idea far enough to make it interesting.

People who label any film with a drop of blood as 'gratuitous torture porn' should avoid it. There is a nice amount of gore, but it is used properly, as well as the rest of the film creating some amazing tension. There are a lot of plot holes, realism flaws etc, but they were easy to look past due to the intense atmosphere created - and it's very difficult to find horror films that create this kind of atmosphere (and have good gore to boot!).
½ September 1, 2014
it's okay. but I hate it when animals die.
August 7, 2014
Not big on.modern horror but.thiz getz a pass
July 15, 2014
An intricate and terrifying bloodfest-overall a decent film. Can't say I was very impressed, but this film's quality definitely surpasses the bland and mediocre premise of the Saw franchise.
½ July 14, 2014
Terribly ending.... Way too gory. And left the ending with too many questions.
July 13, 2014
This is a movie that has a somewhat interesting premise, but with generally poor execution.

The Collector supposedly tests his victims to decide which of them he will "collect", however the film displays very little evidence of this; the man and wife of the family being tormented are simply held in the basement and tortured, which reduces their home being filled with traps to nothing more than an over-engineered means of preventing escape, as the only people to actually fall foul of the traps are people that weren't expected to be there at all. There is no sense that The Collector has planned any of this, or is following any kind of pattern or ritual, which leaves him as little more than a silent slasher villain rather than any kind of true character, and while the fact that he collects people is hinted at, it is never elaborated upon in any meaningful way.

In the end this all results in a film that mostly just glorifies in its gore and trap design, reminiscent of the later Saw films (which coincidentally shared the same writers), but lacks the hook of Jigsaw's twisted sense of purpose. There are no real scares to be had, and limited suspense, leaving us a horror film that doesn't really work all that well on any level besides mindless viewing.

It does however have its moments, such as Arkin, the unfortunate would be thief, struggling between his own survival, and rescuing The Collector's victims whom he had come to rob himself. However, this doesn't make up for the wasted potential of a film that seems to have become little more than a means of introducing a trilogy. There were great opportunities for twists to add some substance, for example if The Collector knew all along what Arkin was planning, and that the house was in fact engineered to test him and not the unlucky family, but instead The Collector's haphazard brutality simply lurches around without any clearly realised plan, just like his film.
½ June 17, 2014
Great movie. Dark, suspenseful, stylish, with a very good performance from Stewart.
½ June 14, 2014
Sadomasochistic horror dreck that makes you feel dirty that you've watched it. I can see why it's referred to as "Torture Porn"; this is a truly unnecessary movie. I should have known better when I read that it was written and directed by some of the guys involved in the "Saw" franchise.
½ June 11, 2014
(Collecting a terrible movie)
Terrible. Well, lets start at the beginning shall we, this film has nothing to offer than a confusing screenplay written by: Patrick Melton and Marcus Dunstan. It's gory, fake and ultimately it comes on way to strong. It's one that I can't even describe how bad it is. Supposedly this film is about a family that goes on a trip and a guy robs them, but there's a creeper in the house before him just waiting to kill. But when you watch this movie you'll see what I'm talking about. So this one doesn't do anyone any favors here. If I could, I would run Hollywood's film studios in a different way.
May 25, 2014
I really like where this film was going, and then it stops going anywhere at all. Fans of gore and horror will enjoy this movie to an extent, and as usual the makers of the Saw franchise deliver clever deaths and gruesome traps for its viewers, but also fall short on valuable storyline. All in all its ending was poor, and left me without the conclusion I needed to add this to my collection. (pun intended)
½ May 17, 2014
Interesting goretastic traps, but they have no purpose to the plot considering the idea is that the killer leaves a booby-trapped house to keep people out....but he's not expecting anyone. He basically gets in, tortures the family, THEN sets up hundreds of traps for no apparent purpose..hilarious! These writers are from the Saw and Feast franchises, so it's apparent that they only wrote this film to create horrific deaths, but skimped out big-time on plot. It's really dumb and you'll spend most of the time staring at the screen thinking, "Wha-what?"
May 6, 2014
Awesome movie!! It was scary, engaging, and extremely intense!! The film will have you shaking your hands from start to finish!! It was really well-crafted because of how engaging it was!! It had plenty of scares throughout and action scenes!! Juan Fernandez did an incredible job as The Collector!! The Collector is the best horror character since Jason and Freddy!! If you are a horror fan, than you have to check this out, and if your not, than don't even look in this direction!! This is absolutely a must-see for horror fans!!
April 27, 2014
if you like a none stop murder and torture I highly recommend this film
½ April 17, 2014
Nothing amazing, but manages to balance all the violence fairly well, and since its pretty much what the movie aims for, while slightly leaving behind the subplot and other things (mainly for the second movie and ultimately the third one that will come out soon) . The Collector however offers enough thrills and violence for a horror fan whos looking for a fairly good watch, but beware that it wont be anything too new or varied.
Page 2 of 150