Despicable Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me Reviews

Page 1 of 10
September 11, 2017
Charming, touching, and surprisingly funny, Despicable Me showed one man's journey to being the most hated to finally finding love--thanks to three little girls.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 21, 2014
Lighthearted yet entirely forgettable...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 23, 2012
I expected another short, simple kids' film with a few jokes and maybe a few loud noises to keep the children interested, but to my surprise, it ended up being much more than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 20, 2012
A consistent stream of chuckles and a lot of convincing heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 25, 2011
A movie that mistakes grotesquery for wit--in other words a perfect vehicle for Steve Carell.
April 14, 2011
The film benefits immensely from a Carell lead vocal turn that's loopy and droll.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 18, 2011
Despicable Me is bright and pretty enough that kids will like it, which is certainly its aim. It's also brainless, heartless and soulless.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 9, 2011
This breezy movie is more fun when it doesn't worry about saying anything important and lets the zany antics unwind.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 6, 2011
Despite its evil theme, Despicable Me is likable and heartwarming family entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 21, 2011
The main goal in Despicable Me is to tell this story with as little sap as possible, and on that it fares well.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
December 24, 2010
Guaranteed to keep the kids entertained, but the film shamelessly borrows from far too many other movies to keep the adults happy.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
October 27, 2010
With no other performance coming close to being as layered as Carell's, the rest... is played for laughs to such an extent that it never reaches Pixar-plotted heights.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
October 19, 2010
It would be a serious examination of the family in the postmodern age, were it not so laugh-out-loud funny.
October 18, 2010
A very likeable 3D animation that combines originality and charm with a pleasing, spiky humour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 15, 2010
The animation is fine and crisp with some imaginative use of colour, while the 3D really brings the action to life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 15, 2010
A frenetic 94 minutes of laughter, thrills and heart-warming sentiment.
October 15, 2010
Another Pixar-wannabe rolls off the production line, reminding us why we should accept no substitutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 14, 2010
When an actor has just hit a career low -- as I think Steve Carell did in the desperate Dinner for Schmucks -- it's a relief to see them bounce back with a performance that clicks, in a hit film that really needs their services.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 14, 2010
It is a perfectly agreeable family entertainment, but not exactly original and nowhere near Pixar's great creations.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 14, 2010
There are enough dashes of originality and narrative surprises to keep adults entertained, at least.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 10