Despicable Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me Reviews

Page 1 of 10
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
March 21, 2014
Lighthearted yet entirely forgettable...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
September 23, 2012
I expected another short, simple kids' film with a few jokes and maybe a few loud noises to keep the children interested, but to my surprise, it ended up being much more than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
February 20, 2012
A consistent stream of chuckles and a lot of convincing heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Louis Proyect
rec.arts.movies.reviews
May 25, 2011
A movie that mistakes grotesquery for wit--in other words a perfect vehicle for Steve Carell.
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
April 14, 2011
The film benefits immensely from a Carell lead vocal turn that's loopy and droll.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
March 18, 2011
Despicable Me is bright and pretty enough that kids will like it, which is certainly its aim. It's also brainless, heartless and soulless.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
March 9, 2011
This breezy movie is more fun when it doesn't worry about saying anything important and lets the zany antics unwind.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Roger Tennis
Cinemaclips.com
February 6, 2011
Despite its evil theme, Despicable Me is likable and heartwarming family entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
January 21, 2011
The main goal in Despicable Me is to tell this story with as little sap as possible, and on that it fares well.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
R. L. Shaffer
IGN DVD
December 24, 2010
Guaranteed to keep the kids entertained, but the film shamelessly borrows from far too many other movies to keep the adults happy.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Kevin A. Ranson
MovieCrypt.com
October 27, 2010
With no other performance coming close to being as layered as Carell's, the rest... is played for laughs to such an extent that it never reaches Pixar-plotted heights.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
Anton Bitel
Eye for Film
October 19, 2010
It would be a serious examination of the family in the postmodern age, were it not so laugh-out-loud funny.
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express (UK)
October 18, 2010
A very likeable 3D animation that combines originality and charm with a pleasing, spiky humour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Edwards
Daily Mirror (UK)
October 15, 2010
The animation is fine and crisp with some imaginative use of colour, while the 3D really brings the action to life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Catherine Jones
Liverpool Echo
October 15, 2010
A frenetic 94 minutes of laughter, thrills and heart-warming sentiment.
Anthony Quinn
Independent (UK)
October 15, 2010
Another Pixar-wannabe rolls off the production line, reminding us why we should accept no substitutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Tim Robey
Daily Telegraph (UK)
October 14, 2010
When an actor has just hit a career low -- as I think Steve Carell did in the desperate Dinner for Schmucks -- it's a relief to see them bounce back with a performance that clicks, in a hit film that really needs their services.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
October 14, 2010
It is a perfectly agreeable family entertainment, but not exactly original and nowhere near Pixar's great creations.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Adam Woodward
Little White Lies
October 14, 2010
There are enough dashes of originality and narrative surprises to keep adults entertained, at least.
| Original Score: 3/5
Terry Staunton
Radio Times
October 14, 2010
The film is constantly laugh-out-loud funny, and the voice cast (which also includes Julie Andrews as Gru's disapproving mother) is exemplary.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 10