Despicable Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me Reviews

Page 1 of 10
March 21, 2014
Lighthearted yet entirely forgettable...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 23, 2012
I expected another short, simple kids' film with a few jokes and maybe a few loud noises to keep the children interested, but to my surprise, it ended up being much more than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 20, 2012
A consistent stream of chuckles and a lot of convincing heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 14, 2011
The film benefits immensely from a Carell lead vocal turn that's loopy and droll.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 9, 2011
This breezy movie is more fun when it doesn't worry about saying anything important and lets the zany antics unwind.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 6, 2011
Despite its evil theme, Despicable Me is likable and heartwarming family entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 21, 2011
The main goal in Despicable Me is to tell this story with as little sap as possible, and on that it fares well.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 27, 2010
With no other performance coming close to being as layered as Carell's, the rest... is played for laughs to such an extent that it never reaches Pixar-plotted heights.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
October 19, 2010
It would be a serious examination of the family in the postmodern age, were it not so laugh-out-loud funny.
October 18, 2010
A very likeable 3D animation that combines originality and charm with a pleasing, spiky humour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 15, 2010
The animation is fine and crisp with some imaginative use of colour, while the 3D really brings the action to life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 15, 2010
A frenetic 94 minutes of laughter, thrills and heart-warming sentiment.
October 14, 2010
When an actor has just hit a career low -- as I think Steve Carell did in the desperate Dinner for Schmucks -- it's a relief to see them bounce back with a performance that clicks, in a hit film that really needs their services.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 14, 2010
It is a perfectly agreeable family entertainment, but not exactly original and nowhere near Pixar's great creations.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 14, 2010
There are enough dashes of originality and narrative surprises to keep adults entertained, at least.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
October 14, 2010
The film is constantly laugh-out-loud funny, and the voice cast (which also includes Julie Andrews as Gru's disapproving mother) is exemplary.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 14, 2010
Balanced a tad uneasily between action fantasy and redemptive heart-tugger, this frenetic CG animation has an identity crisis as big as its hero's inferiority complex. That said, it'll do until Megamind arrives.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 14, 2010
A remarkably effective combination of deranged humour, nutty slapstick and cute sentimentality.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 13, 2010
If you look hard enough, certainly there are problems to find with Despicable Me, but it's an enjoyable and fun Sunday afternoon movie, primed for multiple viewings even if you don't get anything else out of it the second and third times around.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 13, 2010
It's no first-rank CGI cartoon, but shows how Pixar's quality over crass is inspiring the mid-list.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 10