Despicable Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
March 18, 2011
Despicable Me is bright and pretty enough that kids will like it, which is certainly its aim. It's also brainless, heartless and soulless.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
July 7, 2010
Limps to a finish without ever finding a distinct identity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Don Groves
sbs.com.au
September 9, 2010
The 3D effects are deployed most effectively in a sequence at a theme park, Vector's 'squid gun' and the climactic showdown, but I'm not sure they justify the premium price.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Phil Villarreal
OK! Magazine
July 8, 2010
Despicable is too harsh an evaluation for the animated 3D kid magnet du jour. I'd go with Bland Me or Direct-To-Video-Worthy Me.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kimberly Gadette
Indie Movies Online
July 9, 2010
Despicable? Perhaps not the adjective of choice but certainly a stone's throw away from the nearby neighborhood of boring, random and witless.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
Tim Grierson
The Simon
July 9, 2010
So if delicious nastiness isn't Despicable Me's thing, what is? Rampant, merciless cuteness.
Katey Rich
CinemaBlend.com
July 5, 2010
You get the feeling that a darker and more clever Despicable Me may have existed at some point before the studio defaulted to the safe side.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Sarah Boslaugh
Playback:stl
July 9, 2010
... basically Date Night for kids: big stars (in this case as voice actors), big budget, lots of recycled ideas and a predictable story arc...
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
July 8, 2010
If computer animation were still an expensive and painstaking process, Despicable Me wouldn't exist. It isn't worth that kind of effort.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
July 14, 2010
Not despicable enough. Not cute enough. Not funny enough. At least they push the 3-D to near absurd levels. Yes, roller coaster, I'm talking about you.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Justin Strout
Orlando Weekly
July 8, 2010
A film so ugly in every respect that it should come with a free ticket to a Toy Story 3 screening to follow immediately just so audiences can wash its stink off of them with something truly great.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Diva Velez
TheDivaReview.com
July 11, 2010
Despicable Me is a missed opportunity to do something far more interesting than tell a surprisingly flat, utterly predictable story. Pity the script isn't as sharp as the folks acting it
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Mark R. Leeper
rec.arts.movies.reviews
July 15, 2010
This film is mildly amusing, but by next week I probably will not remember anything about it.
Full Review| Original Score: 5/10
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
July 9, 2010
Crammed with mixed messages about a creepy adult male figure adopting three little girl orphans, "Despicable Me" is a scattershot attempt at animated comedy that never clicks.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Brian Tallerico
HollywoodChicago.com
July 9, 2010
It's certainly possible that yet another summer masterpiece from Pixar has made me cynical about animation from other studios but, to this viewer, Despicable Me doesn't follow through on its clever opening act.
Anthony Quinn
Independent (UK)
October 15, 2010
Another Pixar-wannabe rolls off the production line, reminding us why we should accept no substitutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
July 14, 2010
As the movie progresses ... it's clear that beyond some mildly clever sight gags, it is content to mine the same middling formulaic territory of so many other kids' films.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Matt Pais
Metromix.com
July 8, 2010
The notion of a villain's divided impulses has potential that's plump like Gru's torso, but the payoff's scrawny like his legs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Willie Waffle
WaffleMovies.com
July 9, 2010
With the Russian accent, Carell sounds more like Ivan Drago promising that he "must break you."
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Erik Childress
eFilmCritic.com
July 8, 2010
Inoffensive and safe without being particularly funny or exciting, Despicable Me would likely earn that description even if some villain went back in time and made sure Pixar never existed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Elise Nakhnikian
House Next Door
April 22, 2011
Brent Simon
Shared Darkness
May 15, 2012
Page 1 of 10