Despicable Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me Reviews

Top Critic
Tom Huddleston
Time Out
October 13, 2010
One of the year's most likeable family entertainments.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Laremy Legel
Film.com
July 9, 2010
Despicable Me is darned cute. I know cute isn't to the lofty level of "message storytelling" but it can be entertaining to watch when done correctly.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
July 9, 2010
This animated thing pretty near out-Pixars Pixar.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
July 9, 2010
The result is a sweet and witty bit of animated fun with both eye-popping 3-D effects and a warm heart.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Chris Vognar
Dallas Morning News
July 9, 2010
There's a fine line between gleeful anarchy and wasted energy, and Despicable Me has a wonderful knack for staking out its spot and staying on the right side.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
July 9, 2010
So much is going on in this movie that, while there's nothing worth despising, there's not much to remember either.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
July 9, 2010
Welcome to the on-screen psychoanalysis of Joan Rivers, of which she seems equal parts willing participant and antagonist.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Mary F. Pols
MSN Movies
July 9, 2010
The movie finishes strong, managing to be sweet without being saccharine. It's no Toy Story 3, but Despicable Me is a solid alternative.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Bob Mondello
NPR.org
July 9, 2010
It's all thoroughly adorable, and with an overlay that's nearly as odd as Carell's accent: Despicable Me looks a lot like other computer-animated pictures...
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
July 9, 2010
An improbably heartwarming, not to mention visually delightful, diversion.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
July 9, 2010
Despicable Me may not be the most sophisticated kids movie ever, but it stacks up against recent animated fare like How To Train Your Dragon the way The New York Review of Books compares to USA Today.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
July 9, 2010
This is a smartly written comedy with a soft emotional core.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Richard Corliss
TIME Magazine
July 9, 2010
This is an agreeable confection with a few soft spots.
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
July 9, 2010
Right now, any excuse for air conditioning will do. So it's a happy bonus to find that Despicable Me is more than just a heat-busting baby-sitter.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
July 9, 2010
Unfortunately Despicable Me is just, predictably -- eh. And the one thing the larcenous Gru never steals is our heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
July 8, 2010
When compared with the ambition and achievement of recent animated films, such as Coraline and Toy Story 3, Despicable Me hardly seems to have been worth making, and it's barely worth watching.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
July 8, 2010
It looks so stylish that thinking about its plot is strictly optional.
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
July 8, 2010
The film throws so much ersatz cleverness and overdone emotion at the audience that we end up more worn out than entertained.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Jason Anderson
Toronto Star
July 8, 2010
What may be the summer's wittiest kids' flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Tom Keogh
Seattle Times
July 8, 2010
Despicable Me appeals both to our innocence and our glee over cartoon anarchy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
July 8, 2010
A whip-smart family movie that makes inventive use of the summer's ubiquitous 3-D technology is something worth cheering.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
July 8, 2010
You'll probably leave the theater smiling, but don't expect to be emotionally engaged, Pixar-style. You'll be tickled, not touched.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
July 8, 2010
Short, sweet-and-sour, and amusing rather than funny, Despicable Me can't help but be likable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Tasha Robinson
AV Club
July 8, 2010
Despicable Me is a joyously creative, refreshing piece of work, right up until it falls into a hackneyed hole.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
July 8, 2010
Despicable Me has enough visual novelty and high spirits to keep the kiddies diverted and just enough wit to placate the parents.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Cliff Doerksen
Chicago Reader
July 8, 2010
Like the best kids' entertainment, this creates a daffy little world all its own.
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
July 8, 2010
By taking the "heart" part just seriously enough, and in the nick of time, the movie saves itself from itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
July 8, 2010
The film is funny, energetic, teeth-gnashingly venomous and animated with an eye to exploiting the 3-D process with such sure-fire techniques as a visit to an amusement park.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
July 7, 2010
You don't need to know more except that directors Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud are expert are springing surprises from the ingenious script by Cinco Paul and Ken Daurio.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
July 7, 2010
Neither as rich in story nor stunning in animation as Pixar offerings, Despicable Me instead settles for simply being goofy good fun, and it hardly seems like settling at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
July 7, 2010
Kids will dig it, adults will smile with amusement, and no one will be any different afterward than they were walking into the theater.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
July 7, 2010
Despicable Me is a 3D cartoon comedy of whiplash-quick laughs, funny punch lines and a wickedly gimmicky appreciation for 3D.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
July 7, 2010
The setup is pure Looney Tunes, and indeed, Despicable Me is at its best when trading in the anything-for-a-laugh prankery that was a specialty of the Termite Terrace crowd.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Robert Wilonsky
Village Voice
July 6, 2010
The result is pleasant and diverting, if ultimately forgettable, and it's one of the rare instances in the recent history of 3-D's resurrection as The Savior of Cinema in which the technology doesn't dim the screen or distract the focus.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
June 30, 2010
Lo, another 3-D animated kid movie demonstrates that cartoon storytelling pitched to young people is the last, best refuge of sprightly filmmaking this hard, hot summer.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Peter Debruge
Variety
June 9, 2010
Since villains so often steal the show in animation, Despicable Me smartly turns the whole operation over to megalomaniacal rogue Gru.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
June 9, 2010
A fun 3D cartoon about a supervillain who goes up against three young orphans.