I Sell the Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Sell the Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 4, 2009
It's rather hard for anyone who has ever chanced upon a Poe anthology on cable and only lasted through one or two cheeky tales.
August 3, 2009
The cerebral horror of Wendigo and The Last Winter is nowhere to be found in Glenn McQuaid's meandering 19th-century supernatural gothic tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 6, 2009
The sort of movie that was probably more fun to make than it is to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 1, 2009
While I didn't much care for it, I can't fault the flick for having its heart in the right place (along with a wooden stake dead-center).
August 14, 2009
There's very little effort to create something honestly creepy or all that funny. I Sell the Dead too often falls short in both categories with jokes that fall flat and scares that don't register.
August 27, 2009
If it's not actually a good movie, on some level you have to admire the chutzpah of a film set in 1850s Ireland but shot on Staten Island.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 14, 2009
The worst fault visually, probably intended as a charm against the spell of low-budget-itis, is relentless darkness. Pervasive shadows in most shots do not evoke atmosphere, but eye strain.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 6, 2009
Who knew you could make graverobbing boring?
| Original Score: 1.5/5
July 23, 2010
At times predictable. At times overwrought. Most often a tad too silly.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 9, 2009
Bits strike out in every which way but are not long, deep or effective, so 'I Sell the Dead' develops neither momentum nor personality.
August 6, 2009
If you're old enough to remember the goofy double bills that American International used to churn out in the fifties, you'll have some idea of the quality of this movie. Whether you'll consider that an attractive proposition is another matter.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 12, 2010
Reminded me a bit of the old Hammer horror films. The humor doesn't quite cut it. Best way to describe it: I would have loved to have loved this film. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 6, 2010
Capably delivers a half-dozen sub-genres in less than 88 minutes. That's just plain old fun, regardless of how much the flick cost to produce.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 3, 2009
McQuaid recalls Terry Gilliam with his flights into the absurd and his penchant for choking dry humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 74/100
August 14, 2009
An equally suitable title might have been The Medieval Dead.
July 29, 2009
Glenn McQuaid's microbudgeted debut is a jauntily gothic period spook story.
August 23, 2009
The cast and crew behind I Sell the Dead are clearly having a blast - and audiences will nave nearly as much fun with this smart horror comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 6, 2009
I Sell the Dead sports playful genre inventiveness, in which fans can delight and even outsiders can enjoy.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 31, 2010
It goes about its task with inspiration and heart, helping to bridge the gaps between its ambitions and its budget.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 14, 2009
This delightful bit of gallows humor has its high points.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Page 1 of 3