My One and Only - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My One and Only Reviews

Page 2 of 4
September 4, 2009
fails to provide audiences with more than a few madcap adventures and changes in scenery.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/5
September 4, 2009
Part road trip, part coming-of-age story, the film ultimately reveals itself as a Hollywood memoir, but it saves any stardust for its last moments.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 4, 2009
It has a smoothly intoxicating style and never overplays its hand. Better, it doesn't drip in maudlin melodrama, its emotional undercurrents happening with an almost effortless believability that's tastily refreshing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 4, 2009
If you have any curiosity at all about how a fellow like George Hamilton became a fellow like George Hamilton, My One and Only answers the question by looking, fondly, at his primary caregiver.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 4, 2009
It's affable entertainment -- a road movie with a smart map and characters who are unpredictable human beings, not just billboard attractions.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 4, 2009
Parental Content Review
September 4, 2009
Set in the '50s, it shares that decade's sunny optimism without acknowledging the oppressive ugliness that lurked beneath. Even when Anne and her sons are getting tossed out of yet another unpaid-for hotel suite, the movie remains upbeat.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 4, 2009
A grand, colorful coming-of-age story with a candy box color palette and a standout performance by Renée Zellweger. It's a great story and a great crowd-pleaser.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 3, 2009
Can be extremely witty and funny at times
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 3, 2009
My One and Only is like a tale told by a first-rate raconteur, its twists and turns all the more intriguing because it's all true -- more or less.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 3, 2009
This isn't exactly untraveled territory, but director Richard Loncraine makes this potentially familiar story fresh...
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 3, 2009
A generic road-trip/coming-of-age/up-by-your-bootstraps hybrid.
September 3, 2009
It's refreshing, and let's hope it's [Zellweger's] passport out of rom-com purgatory and into mature roles. Sadly, it is a better career move than it is a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 3, 2009
My One and Only isn't exactly memorable, but this little, personable movie is a fine showcase for Zellweger's talents and a paean to the sort of mid-1950s America best remembered in Norman Rockwell paintings.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 3, 2009
My One and Only aspires to a top-down breeziness, but at the end of the road it's as foolish and superficial as a suntan.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 3, 2009
If you've thought of George Hamilton only as a B-celeb with a Day-Glo perma-tan, think again.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 3, 2009
Basing psychological speculation on a biopic is notoriously risky. All I can say is that after seeing My One and Only, Hamilton's persona somehow clicked into place for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 2, 2009
Renee Zellweger looks gorgeous and delivers her best performance since the original Bridget Jones movie in My One and Only
| Original Score: B
August 27, 2009
This is a trifle too sweet to dip as dark as despair -- at worst, we know Anne will learn self-reliance.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 26, 2009
Renée Zellweger plays to her strengths as an unsinkable Southern belle in the safe and breezy 1950s period piece My One and Only.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 2 of 4