My One and Only - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My One and Only Reviews

Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
November 24, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
September 4, 2009
Part road trip, part coming-of-age story, the film ultimately reveals itself as a Hollywood memoir, but it saves any stardust for its last moments.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
September 4, 2009
If you have any curiosity at all about how a fellow like George Hamilton became a fellow like George Hamilton, My One and Only answers the question by looking, fondly, at his primary caregiver.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
Houston Chronicle
September 4, 2009
A grand, colorful coming-of-age story with a candy box color palette and a standout performance by Renée Zellweger. It's a great story and a great crowd-pleaser.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
September 3, 2009
My One and Only is like a tale told by a first-rate raconteur, its twists and turns all the more intriguing because it's all true -- more or less.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
September 3, 2009
This isn't exactly untraveled territory, but director Richard Loncraine makes this potentially familiar story fresh...
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
September 3, 2009
It's refreshing, and let's hope it's [Zellweger's] passport out of rom-com purgatory and into mature roles. Sadly, it is a better career move than it is a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
September 3, 2009
My One and Only isn't exactly memorable, but this little, personable movie is a fine showcase for Zellweger's talents and a paean to the sort of mid-1950s America best remembered in Norman Rockwell paintings.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
September 3, 2009
My One and Only aspires to a top-down breeziness, but at the end of the road it's as foolish and superficial as a suntan.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
September 3, 2009
Basing psychological speculation on a biopic is notoriously risky. All I can say is that after seeing My One and Only, Hamilton's persona somehow clicked into place for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
August 27, 2009
This is a trifle too sweet to dip as dark as despair -- at worst, we know Anne will learn self-reliance.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
August 26, 2009
Renée Zellweger plays to her strengths as an unsinkable Southern belle in the safe and breezy 1950s period piece My One and Only.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
August 21, 2009
The movie is filled with fun '50s Americana, and Lerman, it turns out, really does have the magnetism and star quality to anchor a movie, in a way the real George Hamilton might envy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
August 21, 2009
Flouncing across the country like Miss Piggy, Renée Zellweger makes My One and Only a fabulous bore.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
August 21, 2009
Zellweger isn't dreadful -- in fact, she's more appealing than she's been in years -- but she's not quite good enough. Neither is the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
August 21, 2009
Just when you think nothing will break the summer heat, in blows a cool breeze.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
August 21, 2009
My One and Only is an affectionate picture, set in the early 1950s, that coasts breezily on its charm and style.
Top Critic
Joanne Kaufman
Wall Street Journal
August 21, 2009
Despite some clichéd set-pieces, the unassuming My One and Only keeps its balance and momentum.
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
August 21, 2009
A good-natured screwball road film set in 1953.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic

Boston Globe
August 21, 2009
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Laremy Legel
Film.com
August 21, 2009
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
August 20, 2009
My One and Only has an old-fashioned sensibility making for a pleasantly diverting road movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
August 20, 2009
Director Richard Loncraine applies a period gloss to the proceedings, but adds little momentum; the film never gets on Zellweger's batty wavelength.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Melissa Anderson
Village Voice
August 18, 2009
Occasionally diverting but ultimately forgettable.
Top Critic
Rex Reed
New York Observer
August 12, 2009
A colorfully written, expertly directed and beautifully acted romp about the early life of actor George Hamilton that is guaranteed to make you feel warm all over.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
February 13, 2009
Peter's lightning-fast script and Loncraine's steady direction steer this road picture to the sunny side of the street.
Top Critic
Leslie Felperin
Variety
February 13, 2009
Pleasant and pro-made.