My One and Only - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

My One and Only Reviews

November 24, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 4, 2009
Part road trip, part coming-of-age story, the film ultimately reveals itself as a Hollywood memoir, but it saves any stardust for its last moments.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 4, 2009
If you have any curiosity at all about how a fellow like George Hamilton became a fellow like George Hamilton, My One and Only answers the question by looking, fondly, at his primary caregiver.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 4, 2009
A grand, colorful coming-of-age story with a candy box color palette and a standout performance by Renée Zellweger. It's a great story and a great crowd-pleaser.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 3, 2009
My One and Only is like a tale told by a first-rate raconteur, its twists and turns all the more intriguing because it's all true -- more or less.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 3, 2009
This isn't exactly untraveled territory, but director Richard Loncraine makes this potentially familiar story fresh...
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 3, 2009
It's refreshing, and let's hope it's [Zellweger's] passport out of rom-com purgatory and into mature roles. Sadly, it is a better career move than it is a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 3, 2009
My One and Only isn't exactly memorable, but this little, personable movie is a fine showcase for Zellweger's talents and a paean to the sort of mid-1950s America best remembered in Norman Rockwell paintings.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 3, 2009
My One and Only aspires to a top-down breeziness, but at the end of the road it's as foolish and superficial as a suntan.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 3, 2009
Basing psychological speculation on a biopic is notoriously risky. All I can say is that after seeing My One and Only, Hamilton's persona somehow clicked into place for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 27, 2009
This is a trifle too sweet to dip as dark as despair -- at worst, we know Anne will learn self-reliance.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 26, 2009
Renée Zellweger plays to her strengths as an unsinkable Southern belle in the safe and breezy 1950s period piece My One and Only.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 21, 2009
The movie is filled with fun '50s Americana, and Lerman, it turns out, really does have the magnetism and star quality to anchor a movie, in a way the real George Hamilton might envy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 21, 2009
Flouncing across the country like Miss Piggy, Renée Zellweger makes My One and Only a fabulous bore.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 21, 2009
Zellweger isn't dreadful -- in fact, she's more appealing than she's been in years -- but she's not quite good enough. Neither is the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 21, 2009
Just when you think nothing will break the summer heat, in blows a cool breeze.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 21, 2009
My One and Only is an affectionate picture, set in the early 1950s, that coasts breezily on its charm and style.
August 21, 2009
Despite some clichéd set-pieces, the unassuming My One and Only keeps its balance and momentum.
August 21, 2009
A good-natured screwball road film set in 1953.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
August 21, 2009
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 21, 2009
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 20, 2009
My One and Only has an old-fashioned sensibility making for a pleasantly diverting road movie.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 20, 2009
Director Richard Loncraine applies a period gloss to the proceedings, but adds little momentum; the film never gets on Zellweger's batty wavelength.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 18, 2009
Occasionally diverting but ultimately forgettable.
August 12, 2009
A colorfully written, expertly directed and beautifully acted romp about the early life of actor George Hamilton that is guaranteed to make you feel warm all over.
February 13, 2009
Peter's lightning-fast script and Loncraine's steady direction steer this road picture to the sunny side of the street.
February 13, 2009
Pleasant and pro-made.